Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 49

    1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

    This is a discussion on 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental within the Sky Talk forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Originally Posted by rap Sorry I'm not sure what you mean, as I said above BT charge £10.50 + vat ...

    1. #11
      acdeag's Avatar
      acdeag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by rap View Post
      Sorry I'm not sure what you mean, as I said above BT charge £10.50 + vat which is total £12.34 and Sky £10 that's it, so will save £2.34 per month !!
      Not sure what you are saying. All have to charge VAT (it is the law), BT charge £10.50 incl. VAT this is assuming you pay by direct debit otherwise it is more.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      For the miserly £25 ish a year I think I'd prefer to keep my line with BT for peace of mind rather than talk to Sky if anything went wrong.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







    4. #13
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by acdeag View Post
      Bear in mind that once your line rental is with Sky you will not be able to change broadband supplier without a break in your broadband service as your line will not show as a BT line.
      .
      Actually, as Sky is not a full line unbundle, you can change supplier, I just checked as I have Skytalk and I could migrate to Be*
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    5. #14
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by rap View Post
      Sorry I'm not sure what you mean, as I said above BT charge £10.50 + vat which is total £12.34 and Sky £10 that's it, so will save £2.34 per month !!
      Do you seriously believe that HMRC would not jump on Sky from a great height if they failed to charge and pay VAT? You have been misinformed.
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

    6. #15
      acdeag's Avatar
      acdeag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by Heinz View Post
      Do you seriously believe that HMRC would not jump on Sky from a great height if they failed to charge and pay VAT? You have been misinformed.
      Let's put this VAT issue to rest. BT charge £10.50 per month worked out as this.

      £11.75 Line Rental
      less £1.25 Paper-free billing discount
      Equals £10.50

      If you get a paper bill then you pay £11.75, if you don't pay via direct debit then they will also add £1.50. All these include VAT.

      Get a new or extra home phone line from BT - or reconnect today

    7. #16
      jonathan_d's Avatar
      jonathan_d is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      when is this happening, surely we have to be informed?
      i only found this because i read the forum

    8. #17
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by jonathan_d View Post
      when is this happening, surely we have to be informed?
      i only found this because i read the forum
      According to a number of reports on the MSE forums, it's already happening (well, Sky's doing it anyway) and, it appears, CPS providers don't have to tell their customers.

      How to lose customers!
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

    9. #18
      jonathan_d's Avatar
      jonathan_d is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      yeah that's well out of order!

      is that primus saver 2 the best thing to replace it with then?

    10. #19
      Heinz's Avatar
      Heinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAELC
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky - only the (expensive) 'connect' available in my area.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Entertainment+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      300
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Quote Originally Posted by jonathan_d View Post
      is that primus saver 2 the best thing to replace it with then?
      It's my preference - especially with their Penny Mobile 2 (calls of up to 20 minutes to any UK mobile for 20p) added free of charge.
      Want to save on your phone costs? Click HERE then.

    11. #20
      Godspeed's Avatar
      Godspeed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: And Mart
      Broadband ISP: MID & Missing my Connect Ping
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Devon
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1280 to no longer work even if you pay BT for line rental

      Do you need to have sky talk to be able to get the broadband package at £5/£10??

      It's always advertised as see/speak/surf or whatever so I wondered if you dropped the talk option and went somewhere else (BT) they are in their rights not to offer broadband at the current price?

      Any ideas?

      Cheers

      G

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION