Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Sky Sports Golf problem

    This is a discussion on Sky Sports Golf problem within the Sky Sports forums, part of the Sky TV Channels category; Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew The best work around is to watch it live When you've seen one advert for a ...

    1. #11
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      The best work around is to watch it live
      When you've seen one advert for a golf club, that's enough!, :-))
      Cheers and thNks for the offer below.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      You could always split the programme in half & set 2 separate manual recordings.

      I don't know if the golf is prone to over running or not though.
      Adding enough extra time on to the 2nd one to cover all eventualities could prove tricky if drive space is at a premium.
      So if the golf show is on, say 2pm - 9pm, set 1 manual recording for that channel 2pm - 5:30pm.
      Then set another for 5:30pm - 9pm, but add on whatever time you think appropriate to cover the eventuality of an overrun.

      I'll record 'This is british eurosport HD', 12:35 - 07:30 overnight just for you & hopefully we'll gather some useful info.

    4. #13
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Thank you most kindly!

      Cheers

    5. #14
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      No problem, that's what forums are for.
      This one is the best.

    6. #15
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      'This is british eurosport HD' recorded successfully.
      Recording time 6hrs, 57mins (417mins).

      So no time limit there.
      Must be something else going on with the golf.

    7. #16
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      'This is british eurosport HD' recorded successfully.
      Recording time 6hrs, 57mins (417mins).

      So no time limit there.
      Must be something else going on with the golf.
      Thanks so much for the test.

      It is either something to do with the box or the transmission - perhaps the software needs new drivers ;-))

      Cheers

    8. #17
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      I must admit, i thought the max length recording was an old issue. I can't find anything recently.

      Have you performed housekeeping on the box? (Services 0 0 1 Select)?

    9. #18
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      I must admit, i thought the max length recording was an old issue. I can't find anything recently.

      Have you performed housekeeping on the box? (Services 0 0 1 Select)?
      Not yet but will tomorrow morning.
      Thanks again

    10. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Hi Meteosat,

      Which firmware version ('Model Number') do you have on your STB now? Also what is the 'Version number' on the System details page?

      It may help to know the time and date of the original recording too so that I can feed this back.

      Other piece of useful info:


      • What else was the STB doing at the time?
      • What are the power saving settings? (i.e. Standby Mode)
      • Have you cleared out the 'Deleted' tab?


      Thank you

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #20
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      520
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Sports Golf problem

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Hi Meteosat,

      Which firmware version ('Model Number') do you have on your STB now? Also what is the 'Version number' on the System details page?

      It may help to know the time and date of the original recording too so that I can feed this back.

      Other piece of useful info:


      • What else was the STB doing at the time?
      • What are the power saving settings? (i.e. Standby Mode)
      • Have you cleared out the 'Deleted' tab?


      Thank you
      Hi Scubbie,
      I waited to reply as I was giving the recording box a could workout with the USA Open golf tournament this weekend. The box hasn't produced any errors this time.

      I think I'll wait until I have another piece of evidence and then fill in the details you ask for - I can say for definite I didn't clear out the 'deleted' tab, and the setting is for eco mode in standby. No idea what the STB was doing when the end got cut off. I may have been doing multiple fast forward moments during the final day, but possibly not for the previous ones.

      Let me know if you still want me to complete the list of details.

      Cheers

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION