Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 1 Post By bubblegun
    • 1 Post By bubblegun

    About to move to HD...guidance requested

    This is a discussion on About to move to HD...guidance requested within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I've been a Sky customer for many years, and wen the terrestrial TV stopped its analogue service, I went ...

    1. #1
      Chris43's Avatar
      Chris43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Hi,
      I've been a Sky customer for many years, and wen the terrestrial TV stopped its analogue service, I went to Sky Multiroom, but didn't take the HD service. Sky supplied a HD+ box and we moved the old Sky box to the other room.
      Now I want to upgrade to HD and ideally do this in both rooms. I assume that they will replace the old box, and upgrade the viewing cards in each.
      One option however, would be to use the old box a freesat box, but I don't now how to organise that, and would like some advice before talking to Sky. Forearmed is forewarned!
      If anyone can give me advice, that would be great.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      If you cancel the multiroom subscription then the old box would become a freesat box without you actually doing anything, however if it is a Sky+ box you would lose the record facility's on it and obviously you would not get HD in that room either.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Yes you could just cancel the Multiscreen subscription, but that wouldn't give you HD in both rooms.

      Instead what you can do is pick up a second hand Sky+ HD (DRX890 or DRX895) from a local shop. Set it all up in place of the old Sky+ STB, swap the viewing card over. The follow the on-screen prompt to pair you viewing card to it.

      Once that is all done, just give Sky a friendly call and get the HD subscription added.

      Just a friendly piece of advice with prices though. Popular websites subch as eBay tend to have boxes going for silly money. The same is true for national chains such as Ca$h Convertors. Try not to spend anything over 25 if you can help it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      Chris43's Avatar
      Chris43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Thanks. HD in the other room isn't really a need, at least not until our 20y old Sony 17" finally gives up the ghost. Most of the time it is listened to, not watched quite as much. But when that day comes your suggestions will be a great help, or when the stb gives up, which is obviously possible.

    6. #5
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Quote Originally Posted by Chris43 View Post
      Hi,
      I've been a Sky customer for many years, and wen the terrestrial TV stopped its analogue service, I went to Sky Multiroom, but didn't take the HD service. Sky supplied a HD+ box and we moved the old Sky box to the other room.
      Now I want to upgrade to HD and ideally do this in both rooms. I assume that they will replace the old box, and upgrade the viewing cards in each.
      One option however, would be to use the old box a freesat box, but I don't now how to organise that, and would like some advice before talking to Sky. Forearmed is forewarned!
      If anyone can give me advice, that would be great.
      If you upgrade to HD and already have a Sky+HD box then all they do is switch on that function on your existing box. I may be misunderstanding what you posted but if you wanted Sky+HD in the second room you would need to buy another box for 199 + 15 delivery or possibly get a 2Tb box for either 49 or 149 + delivery, or as Scubbie suggested buying a second hand 3rd party box. [Edit] In fact there's a 3rd option where you can get a refurbished box for 30 from Sky Technical if you tell them you have a faulty sky+ box.
      Scubbie likes this.
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    7. #6
      Chris43's Avatar
      Chris43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Thanks for the information. No, we don't need HD in the second room, so a simple Sky Freesat viewing card is what I'll go for. It's annoying that I've been paying for multi-room for a couple of years now, but only now come across the this option. But I suppose that Sky wouldn't know my viewing habits for the 2nd box.

    8. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      No need to buy a Freesat viewing card. Just cancel your Multiscreen subscription and your existing viewing card becomes a Freesat viewing card (without support) after thirty one days.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      bubblegun (14-12-15)

    10. #8
      Chris43's Avatar
      Chris43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Once again, thanks.
      This raises one more question - I probably don't want more than BBC1, BB2, ITV1, C4, 5, and BBC News 24. Will doing this give me these channels?

    11. #9
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      It certainly will.

      There's a comprehensive list of channels here:
      List of Channels on Sky - TV Channel Lists

    12. #10
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: About to move to HD...guidance requested

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      It certainly will.

      There's a comprehensive list of channels here:
      List of Channels on Sky - TV Channel Lists
      Just to point out that this is where this forum is better than "Official Sky" forum where they would probably suggest you buy a Freesat card for 25 when there is no need to do this.
      Scubbie likes this.
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION