Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Another communal question!

    This is a discussion on Another communal question! within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; ahh, that sounds more like it. it sounds like for a minimal cost, everyone could have dual feed then as ...

    1. #11
      mrdo's Avatar
      mrdo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      ahh, that sounds more like it. it sounds like for a minimal cost, everyone could have dual feed then as there are only 7 properties in the block.

      i'm guessing that there will be some sort of multiswitch there already? would an engineer be able to tell where the feeds are going by checking the existing multiswitch?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      Quote Originally Posted by mrdo View Post
      would an engineer be able to tell where the feeds are going by checking the existing multiswitch?
      Yes. How easy, will depend on whether labels or identity sleeves have been fitted.

    4. #13
      mrdo's Avatar
      mrdo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      ok. have finally had an update from another tenant who has advised that they had an engineer out a few years ago to explore upgrading the system but it was deemed to be too expensive.

      they were advised that it's possible to buy something to allow the cable to be split in two to allow sky+ to work properly?

      any ideas about that?

      thanks again for your help - much appreciated.

    5. #14
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      Quote Originally Posted by mrdo View Post
      they were advised that it's possible to buy something to allow the cable to be split in two to allow sky+ to work properly?
      Yes, it is a device (well two actually) that allows two signals to be sent down one cable. Useful where it is not possible to run a second cable but as I understand you already have two cables but no spare output on the multiswitch to connect the second cable to, so no help in that situation.

      Another communal question!-stackerdestackeronecable.jpg
      Last edited by seawright; 12-11-15 at 12:05 AM. Reason: Added image

    6. #15
      mrdo's Avatar
      mrdo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      thanks for being so patient here!

      so, i'm guessing that it was the cost of installing more cabling that's prohibitive rather than the cost of a multiswitch based on the approximate cost that you mentioned.

      i would be happy to cover the cost of a new multiswitch which would mean more feeds and then i could use something to allow me to split the signal in my flat only? does that sound about right?

      thanks again.

    7. #16
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,518
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      I've added an image to my previous post. Having never used one I wouldn't like to recommend this solution to you. A lot will depend on the length and quality of the cable you have fitted. Before buying you may want to read the reviews provided by previous purchasers.

    8. #17
      mrdo's Avatar
      mrdo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another communal question!

      great stuff.

      at least i know that there are possibilities.

      i'll be getting in an engineer to advise me on my options based on your suggestions.

      many, many thanks for your time. :-)

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION