Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

    This is a discussion on How do I check which sky+ HD box I have? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; For example I've seen Google posts saying I have a Samsung box, etc...

    1. #1
      RetiredSideman's Avatar
      RetiredSideman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

      For example I've seen Google posts saying I have a Samsung box, etc


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

      Welcome to Skyuser RetiredSideman.

      There is a great list HERE showing all of the box types & their corresponding version numbers.
      A samsung will start with 973, or an amstrad / sky will start with 4F3 etc.

      To find out your box's version number press services on the remote, then press right, down & scroll along to system details.

    4. #3
      RetiredSideman's Avatar
      RetiredSideman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      Welcome to Skyuser RetiredSideman.

      There is a great list HERE showing all of the box types & their corresponding version numbers.
      A samsung will start with 973, or an amstrad / sky will start with 4F3 etc.

      To find out your box's version number press services on the remote, then press right, down & scroll along to system details.
      Thanks! Glad to be here.

      Mine looks like it is a sky model, is there any difference in performance between them?

    5. #4
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

      Performance wise there isn't a huge difference.

      I forgot that THIS more comprehensive table includes the version numbers.
      The minor differences are shown in the far right column.

      Some people have reported a slight sluggishness when navigating the epg & menus etc with the older pace, samsung & drx780 boxes - now that more functionality has been added via firmware updates.
      All of the later boxes with model numbers starting drx89 are effectively the same in this respect.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

      All the new features are available on the DRX89x range.

      Sadly the Samsung, Pace and Amstrad DRX780 models aren't up to supporting all the features but do have the main ones.

      Speed wise, some people have complained that their Samsungs are struggling with the new codes, but they do work if perhaps a touch slower.

      I don't have one to compare with my own DRX890 or DRX895 though.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: How do I check which sky+ HD box I have?

      Quote Originally Posted by RetiredSideman View Post
      Thanks! Glad to be here.

      Mine looks like it is a sky model, is there any difference in performance between them?
      They are all Sky models, but the early ones were made by different manufacturers. If you have a Samsung it will have a label on the back with 'HDSKY' on it. All Sky boxes are now manufactured by Amstrad, which is owned by Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION