Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

    This is a discussion on Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Currently got multi-room with additional box in upstairs bedroom. Currently this then feeds via an aerial cable and magic eye ...

    1. #1
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      278
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Currently got multi-room with additional box in upstairs bedroom. Currently this then feeds via an aerial cable and magic eye around the outside of the house into another bedroom.

      What I want to be able to do is provide this feed into another room too.

      So,

      1. Can you split the cable and run two magic eyes or won't this work?

      2. If I split the cable, its going to be outside - whats the best sort of junction box for this?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Shouldn't be any problem using a passive splitter with DC pass-through to split the RF2 output from a Sky box to feed two magic eyes and TVs. If the splitter is outside use a splitter with screw in type F connectors rather than push in. Use silicon compound on the threads and seal with self-amalgamating tape.

    4. #3
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      278
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Thanks. Anyone got any links/recommendations?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Check this site:
      http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page15a.htm#skysplit
      Although it doesn't state "SkyLink" the A73203 2-way splitter should be suitable however it may be worth checking that it is "fit for purpose" when placing your order.
      Silicon compound, self-amalgamating tape and type "F" plugs can be ordered from the same site.
      It is important that the plugs match the cable type/size you are using.

    6. #5
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      278
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Check this site:
      http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page15a.htm#skysplit
      Although it doesn't state "SkyLink" the A73203 2-way splitter should be suitable however it may be worth checking that it is "fit for purpose" when placing your order.
      Silicon compound, self-amalgamating tape and type "F" plugs can be ordered from the same site.
      It is important that the plugs match the cable type/size you are using.
      Thanks. In general will any splitter work with a magic eye link or are there limitations?

      For instance, am I right in saying that magic eye needs a voltage down the cable? Are there any splitters that would block this?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Not all the powered splitters support the voltage pass-through that the Magic Eye requires.

      This is an important thing which you need to check for.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Not all the powered splitters support the voltage pass-through that the Magic Eye requires.

      This is an important thing which you need to check for.
      The same applies to a passive (unpowered) splitter which should be adequate for this application provided that good quality ultra low loss co-ax is used and the longest distance from Sky box to TV does not exceed 15 metres.

    9. #8
      psychocandy's Avatar
      psychocandy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwderin
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      278
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      Right just been readin on the satcure pages that splitters lose signal and send 40% of each to each split.

      Problem is that one cable is going to be 10-12m length away.

      BTW - how do I tell a splitter is going to work with magic eye or should I assume not unless it says?
      Every day when I wake up I thank the Lord I'm Welsh

    10. #9
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      If 10-12m is the total length from Sky box to TV that should be ok.

      If you think about what a passive splitter is doing, ie. splitting the available power two ways, even a perfect (lossless) splitter would only send 50% of the power to each TV. Unfortunately nothing in this world is perfect.

      Unless it states otherwise I would assume that a splitter would not pass the DC voltage necessary to power a Magic Eye which was why I suggested (in an earlier post) checking that it is "fit for purpose" when placing your order.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      psychocandy (09-04-14)

    12. #10
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Two feeds to other rooms from one sky box?

      The UHF splitter not only must pass the DC voltage for the "eye"; it must also pass the signals FROM the magic eye TO the Digibox. We did tests and the only one that did both (most of the time) is the one listed as "SkyLink compatible passive splitter". But do read all of this page:
      http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/split.htm

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION