Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Upgrading for Sky SD to HD

    This is a discussion on Upgrading for Sky SD to HD within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My first post. I'm sure this must have been answered before, but I can't find it... I have a standard ...

    1. #1
      UncleZen's Avatar
      UncleZen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgrading for Sky SD to HD

      My first post.
      I'm sure this must have been answered before, but I can't find it...

      I have a standard sky (SD) box (circa 2002) I'm contemplating upgrading to a Sky+HD box.
      I have the basic Sky package (no sport or movies).

      I want to be able to record TV.
      I want to get the free-to-air HD channels because I don't want to pay Sky 10/m (especially since they've removed the F1 channel from the HD channel line up).
      I'd like a way of getting recording off the box and into a computer (not critical, but nice to have).

      Whats the cheapest approach to accomplish the above.

      I understand that whilst I have an active Sky package, I'll be able to record to disk?
      I'm aware that there are Sky+HD boxes and wireless adapters available on eBay for about 75.
      I'm also aware that I'll need another feed from my dish if I want to record one channel whist I watch another.
      I'm aware that I'll need to pair my existing viewing card with the new box (is there a charge for this?)
      I also understand that if I connect the box to the internet via the adapter I should be able to get catchup services for past programmes (iPlayer, itv player, 4OD, Demand 5 etc)?
      Will I need to connect the new box to a phone line? (There is no phone line nearby).

      Is there anything I've missed, or anything else I need to do?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      517
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Upgrading for Sky SD to HD

      HD is only 5.00 without sports & movies plus you will get access to On Demand box sets
      You can order box office and sky store programmes without a phoneline if you're box is connected to your router.
      Annie 🦋..........
      My Sky+HD FAQ
      (now with more questions)
      My Sky hardware and setup




    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Upgrading for Sky SD to HD

      Have a look on your MySky page, if you have never received a free or discounted HD box, you may find you are eligible for a free upgrade.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      UncleZen's Avatar
      UncleZen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgrading for Sky SD to HD

      Just checked.
      Sky+HD Box 49
      TV Standard set-up 60
      Total 109
      Nowhere can I find out what "TV Standard set-up" is. Is that a man in a van adding a new feed from my dish to the TV?
      Can I export programmes? A wireless adapter is not included AFAICT (my router is not near my TV).
      Is "Sky Entertainment+" at 5/m the new name for the HD pack?

      My reluctance to upgrade in the past is, in-part, due to the confusing and complex website, and if I have an online chat they seem to only want to sell me something I dont want.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Upgrading for Sky SD to HD

      Nowhere can I find out what "TV Standard set-up" is. Is that a man in a van adding a new feed from my dish to the TV?
      Standard setup includes everything, adding an extra feed to the dish and maybe even replacing the dish if it is very old. With regards the wireless adapter, Sky's new boxes have built in wireless so with a bit of luck you would get one of these.
      Is "Sky Entertainment+" at 5/m the new name for the HD pack?

      This is what you get with EE+ Sky Entertainment Extra+ | Sky Products

      Can I export programmes?
      The only way to do this is by using a DVD/HDD recorder or by using a capture card on your PC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION