Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    TV Link problems

    This is a discussion on TV Link problems within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, First time post for me, so please bear with me. I've got 2 TV's ran from my Sky +HD ...

    1. #1
      bambam13's Avatar
      bambam13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      TV Link problems

      Hi,

      First time post for me, so please bear with me.

      I've got 2 TV's ran from my Sky +HD STB. everything was fine when I had only one TV running from the main STB with a magic eye, but since I've put the 2nd TV in, the picture is terrible and I have bad noise interference, even when I disconnect one of the TV's. I also have the global F140 splitter/booster feeding the two additional TV's. I have tried to retune the RF2 channel number from 21 to 69 and all have some level of interference (but not much difference to be honest). i have took one of the additional TV's into the lounge and plugged the coax cable directly into either of the RF1 & RF2 outlets (i.e. ruled out my new cable runs, the splitter and magic eyes), and still the interference is present!

      Could it be the STB itself? Any help will be greatfully recieved

      Thanks,


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Are you able to return the system to how you had it originally and see if the interference disappears?

    4. #3
      bambam13's Avatar
      bambam13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Already done that seawright and still interference. I had read that it was the new 4G signal interfering so I changed to channel 69 and that solved the issue for an hour then back to interference again.
      Any thoughts?
      ta

      - - - Updated - - -

      Already done that seawright and still interference. I had read that it was the new 4G signal interfering so I changed to channel 69 and that solved the issue for an hour then back to interference again.
      Any thoughts?
      ta

    5. #4
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      What does this "noise interference" sound like?

      Read advice here: http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/interf.htm

    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Quote Originally Posted by bambam13 View Post
      Already done that seawright and still interference. I had read that it was the new 4G signal interfering so I changed to channel 69 and that solved the issue for an hour then back to interference again. Any thoughts?ta
      It is strange that the interference only caused a problem following the changes that you made to the system. That you are unable to revert to the original interference free set-up would lead me to believe that something has been disturbed causing a reduction in strength of the wanted signal allowing the interfering signal to become apparent. It is, of course, possible that the 4G transmitter came on air at the exact moment that you changed the TV distribution configuration but that would be a very unlucky coincidence.

    7. #6
      bambam13's Avatar
      bambam13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Martin P
      the sound is barely audible through the interference to be honest, and the picture is wry grainy. The quality doesn't change throughout the day either.
      I've had a quick read through the sat cure stuff, but most of it is a little beyond me. Any more help??
      Many thanks

    8. #7
      bambam13's Avatar
      bambam13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      I've just unplugged the STB, switched of the RF2 power and switched all back on again. The picture seems much better (watchable at least) but the sound is still very bad.
      Any further ideas guys??
      thanks

    9. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Is there a fine tuning control on the TV? If so can you tune it to improve sound quality?

    10. #9
      bambam13's Avatar
      bambam13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2013
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Yes there is a fine tune, but makes no difference to the sound, just the picture. I've tried a few coax cables so in my mind I've ruled out dodgy cabling, what is in the STB that could fail? Anything that would lead to just the sound going off??

    11. #10
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: TV Link problems

      Is your Sky box still under warranty? If so it might be worth speaking to Sky TV's technical department. If not do you know anyone else with Sky who would be prepared to lend you their set top box (STB) as this would probably be the easiest way to confirm whether it is your STB that is causing the problem.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION