Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12
    Like Tree1Likes

    DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

    This is a discussion on DVI - HDMI Adaptor question within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi Everyone A quick question, (hopefully!)...... I've just had Sky multiroom installed this morning, all was going great up to ...

    1. #1
      Bevk's Avatar
      Bevk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01225
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      Hi Everyone

      A quick question, (hopefully!)......

      I've just had Sky multiroom installed this morning, all was going great up to connecting the tv we wanted to use. It's quite an old 32" flat screen, it doesn't have a HDMI lead slot.

      The engineer said that I would need to get a DVI to HDMI adapter to be able to use this tv with the Sky HD (non plus) (DRX595). He said that I would also need to connect via audio leads too, however the box doesn't seem to have anywhere for this to be connected.

      Could someone help in directing me to what leads I need please (if this is possible) or do we need to get a new telly......

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      Don't you have scart sockets on the box and TV?

      Do you have a DVI input on the TV, what type is it?

      The Sky box has an optical sound output, does your TV have an optical input?

      The box also has a mini din socket which may carry sound, someone may know.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Bevk's Avatar
      Bevk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01225
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      Hi
      I've connected them via scart for now, but wondered if I could connect by HDMI for a better picture.

      I'll attach a pic of the back of the telly.DVI - HDMI Adaptor question-tv-back.jpg

    5. #4
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      I think you'll get a better picture by going from HDMI to component video and audio, something like this HDMI To RGB Component YPbPr Audio Video Converter 1080i: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      I agree with Steely, you will also need an HDMI cable which the installer should have left and component/audio cables like these -
      http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cables-To-Go...d+audion+cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      *edit Nevermind, made a boo boo

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      I doubt it as there are no composite sockets on the SkyHD box, they would serve no purpose.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      Lol nothing gets past you does it. .

      I made 2 boo boo's there.
      It's a non hd box & you weren't even suggesting skyman would leave them anyway.
      Hahaha, i'll get my coat.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      I made 2 boo boo's there It's a non hd box
      That's another one, it is a non + Sky HD box.
      gymno likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: DVI - HDMI Adaptor question

      I give up.

      Ever had one of those days?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION