Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Is it possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on sky+ ?

    This is a discussion on Is it possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on sky+ ? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I was wondering if it is possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on Sky+ I remember 10-15 years ago ...

    1. #1
      Jazz78's Avatar
      Jazz78 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is it possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on sky+ ?

      I was wondering if it is possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on Sky+

      I remember 10-15 years ago when we recorded on VHS tapes.
      When we recorded a programme on vhs and when the adverts came we pressed pause on VHS remote control and when the adverts finished we pressed pause to unpause it.


      When we watched the VHS tape. The adverts were not recorded.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts
      It is possible to do this, but not easy.

      You will need to stop the recording, change channels and return just before the ads finish. You can then restart the recording.

      To be fair, pressing easy forward when you play it back is easier.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      thecybershocker (26-07-13)

    5. #3
      thecybershocker's Avatar
      thecybershocker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01547
      Broadband ISP: talktalk
      Router: talktalk router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Would be nice to have the option to not record adverts.

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

    6. #4
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on sky+ ?

      yea would be a good idea like I am surprised sky have not thought of it considering how many adverts are on all day every day and on almost every channel.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to deadman1984 For This Useful Post:

      thecybershocker (26-07-13)

    8. #5
      thecybershocker's Avatar
      thecybershocker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01547
      Broadband ISP: talktalk
      Router: talktalk router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Same thoughts mate. But sky so far I have seen they don't really take customers thoughts and needs into consideration. ')

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

    9. #6
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      517
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Is it possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on sky+ ?

      Quote Originally Posted by thecybershocker View Post
      Same thoughts mate. But sky so far I have seen they don't really take customers thoughts and needs into consideration. ')
      Sky do take customers thoughts into consideration. In the beta group we have had several of our ideas/changes implemented, also they make a note of all customer suggestions posted on their forums.
      Last edited by Annie UK; 26-07-13 at 03:17 PM.
      Annie 🦋..........
      My Sky+HD FAQ
      (now with more questions)
      My Sky hardware and setup




    10. #7
      thecybershocker's Avatar
      thecybershocker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01547
      Broadband ISP: talktalk
      Router: talktalk router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Well off topic sound issue for example so many are complaining. Nothing done about it

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

    11. #8
      Rturner003's Avatar
      Rturner003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01242
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      Cheltenham
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Is it possible to Cut/Not record adverts while recording on sky+ ?

      I think the advertisers may complain if they implemented such a feature.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

    12. #9
      thecybershocker's Avatar
      thecybershocker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01547
      Broadband ISP: talktalk
      Router: talktalk router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Good point

      Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

    13. #10
      AdamLC's Avatar
      AdamLC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen Internet
      Router: TP-Link Deco M5
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
      Advertising revenue helps fund the channels etc. Without that things would be much more expensive to show!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION