Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Multiroom newbie

    This is a discussion on Multiroom newbie within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Need some advice here please. If I subscribe to multiroom, does this mean that I could watch and record two ...

    1. #1
      Unclehefty's Avatar
      Unclehefty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01829
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Multiroom newbie

      Need some advice here please.

      If I subscribe to multiroom, does this mean that I could watch and record two programmes downstairs whilst people using the other box upstairs could record and watch two programmes there - we have differing tastes

      Do both boxes have to be connected to the router?

      Unclehefty


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      Yes, each STB would work independently of the other.

      If you connect them both to your home network, then they will both be able to download On Demand content too. If you are using the Sky+ app on your iOS device or Zeebox on your Android device, then you can also select each STB independently to change channels or more.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Unclehefty's Avatar
      Unclehefty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01829
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Yes, each STB would work independently of the other.

      If you connect them both to your home network, then they will both be able to download On Demand content too. If you are using the Sky+ app on your iOS device or Zeebox on your Android device, then you can also select each STB independently to change channels or more.
      Not sure that I understand but let me try again:
      What I want to know is if we are both watching in effect rooms and each want to record two different programmes can we?
      Ta uncleH

    5. #4
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      See it as two boxes in two different houses, they work the same way. The only difference is one of the subscriptions is cheaper because the boxes are in the same house.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      Quote Originally Posted by Unclehefty View Post
      Not sure that I understand but let me try again:
      What I want to know is if we are both watching in effect rooms and each want to record two different programmes can we?
      Ta uncleH
      Yes.

      In my lounge I could watch 'Treasure Island' this afternoon on Sky1 HD, whilst recording 'Nothing to Declare' on Sky Living HD. At the same time a friend could be watching 'Friends' (Comedy Central HD) on my other STB in the bedroom, whilst recording 'NCIS' (Fox HD).

      To cap it all, I could be downloading '50 First Dates' and they could be downloading series 1 & 2 of Mad Dogs from the On Demand section.

      All this can be done at the same time.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Unclehefty (12-01-13)

    8. #6
      Unclehefty's Avatar
      Unclehefty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01829
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Yes.

      In my lounge I could watch 'Treasure Island' this afternoon on Sky1 HD, whilst recording 'Nothing to Declare' on Sky Living HD. At the same time a friend could be watching 'Friends' (Comedy Central HD) on my other STB in the bedroom, whilst recording 'NCIS' (Fox HD).

      To cap it all, I could be downloading '50 First Dates' and they could be downloading series 1 & 2 of Mad Dogs from the On Demand section.

      All this can be done at the same time.
      Sold to the man in the bowler hat

      Thanks for your help

    9. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,519
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      Unless you already have a second Sky+ /Sky+ HD set top box make sure when ordering multiroom that you specify recording facilities are required on both boxes as the standard multiroom box supplied by Sky does not have any recording facilities.

    10. #8
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Multiroom newbie

      Note that both Digiboxes must be connected to the same telephone line.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION