Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Do I need a 'phone line connected ?

    This is a discussion on Do I need a 'phone line connected ? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello, I've just joined. I've got a Sky+ box with HD and subscription to movies and sport. I don't have ...

    1. #1
      PRJ's Avatar
      PRJ
      PRJ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01245
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Do I need a 'phone line connected ?

      Hello, I've just joined.

      I've got a Sky+ box with HD and subscription to movies and sport.

      I don't have a 'phone line connected to my box because it's in a different room. This means that I haven't been able to get box office movies because i couldn't register the payment.

      Just attached the wireless connector (arrived on Friday and it was the new type). Also got the new EPG and iPad app. That all brings plenty of new stuff.

      BUT, I had hoped that this set up would allow 'pay to view' items to be validated over the internet ... but I'm still being asked to attach a 'phone line.

      Is there anyway to configure payment validation over the internet connection ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Do I need a 'phone line connected ?

      Is there anyway to configure payment validation over the internet connection ?
      I don't think so at the moment, although it may happen in the future. You can however order Box office events by phone. The number for movies is 08442410600 or 08442410888, it cost an extra 1.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Do I need a 'phone line connected ?

      You could always consider getting one of these:

      http://www.maplin.co.uk/dect-wireles...extender-97658

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      Aebleskiver's Avatar
      Aebleskiver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Do I need a 'phone line connected ?

      It seems a bit odd that Sky still rely on the phone line at all for providing the services in the Interactive menu (and the box tracking)... like they can't be used unless the box can communicate through the modem. They should be using the internet connectivity for this now, leaving the modem connector as a legacy option until enough people have they boxes connected to their network that they can eliminate the modem all together in a future cost reduction saving...
      Last edited by Aebleskiver; 16-10-12 at 11:01 AM.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Do I need a 'phone line connected ?

      This has been discussed but no firm official answer has ever been given to my knowledge.

      I am guessing that Sky uses the telephone number to verify the location for security reasons, but this isn't 100% fallible.

      This method also prevents people outside the UK and Ireland from using all the features on the STB.

      Of course the popularity of Sky's On Demand service means that many more people have connected their Sky+ HD STBs to the Internet now, but the truth is that many have still not done so. The same is true for Internet ready TVs. Many are not connected up for many different reasons.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION