Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20
    Like Tree6Likes

    Sky Channel Numbers Swop

    This is a discussion on Sky Channel Numbers Swop within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Who in there right mind at Sky thought it a good idea to try and force people to buy a ...

    1. #1
      Chriskkk's Avatar
      Chriskkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      Who in there right mind at Sky thought it a good idea to try and force people to buy a new HD box by swopping the HD channel nos with the ordinary ones ?

      They obviously didn't think about customers like my 87 year old mother in law who is registered blind and disabled, How do they expect her to remember and find the new channels numbers? Nice One


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      Sorry, I don't understand what you mean?

    4. #3
      WheelNutWalter's Avatar
      WheelNutWalter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCHEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      Have you tried calling them? They usually only swap HD channels when you have the HD pack, and even then, 101-105 are still the SD versions.

    5. #4
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      They are pushing HD because they don't do standard definition boxes anymore and HD is the future. They did not force you to buy anything, they offered you an upgrade as an alternative to a service call (most likely) and you took it. The channel number swap is for HD subscribers only, and it's only affects channels that have HD equivalents. The channels are the same, but the channel will be HD instead of SD, so there is really no difference to the channel numbers or the content you can see unless you don't have an HD tv, in which case you should have taken the box upgrade without the HD subscription. If you don't have the HD subscription then the channels revert to the SD versions.

    6. #5
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      Trying really hard not to sound insensitive but....

      ...why does a blind person need a TV?

      And if it's to take advantage of Audio Description, why would it matter whether a channel is in HD or SD?

      Thirdly, is this a wind up?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      why does a blind person need a TV?
      Registered blind does not mean the person is completely blind, only that their site is very severely impaired.

      The fact remains that the channel numbers have not really been changed, if you press 106 you will still get Sky 1. If you have an HD subscription it will be in HD if you don't it will be SD.
      gymno likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Registered blind does not mean the person is completely blind, only that their site is very severely impaired.
      True, which is why I don't want to come across as insensitive or facetious, but I fail to see the point in a TV (personally) if your eyesight is severely impaired except to make use of Audio Description, the use of which is the same regardless of whether or not the channel is in HD or SD.

      No pun intended, but I don't see the problem.

    9. #8
      Chriskkk's Avatar
      Chriskkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      Sorry, I may not have made it too clear.
      My Mother in law has a sky+ box which she just about knows wre sky one is ( was on channel 106) etc.
      Sky one for normal Sky+ boxes is now on channel 170. You cannot get 106 on an old SD box now
      As I say, no thought was made for blind or partially blind people and yes she can hear.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      You cannot get 106 on an old SD box now
      That must be pretty new, but as the HD channels are now the premier ones, it was to be expected. Setting up Favourites for her would be your best solution.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Sky Channel Numbers Swop

      @stereohaven
      My dad is registered as blind.
      Like most folks in his situation, some sight is attainable in certain light & with certain aids etc.

      This isn't the first time your ignorance has angered me...

      You failed to detect the irony in my comment here: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...tml#post385122

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION