Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme

    Sky's system problems?

    This is a discussion on Sky's system problems? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Could Sky's system problems and trouble getting through be related to India's power cuts? Surely some customer service depts in ...

    1. #1
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Sky's system problems?

      Could Sky's system problems and trouble getting through be related to India's power cuts?

      Surely some customer service depts in UK business must be affected?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky's system problems?

      The majority of Sky's call centres are based in the UK.

      There is a small call centre in India. They mostly cover Bank Holidays and late hours.

      Also since power has now bee restored, it should be fine.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky's system problems?

      It should be fine, after the hardware has been reset or replaced after spikes and unrealiable UPS.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's system problems?

      I was under the impression that there were no Sky call centres in India?

      Unless something has changed.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky's system problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I was under the impression that there were no Sky call centres in India?

      Unless something has changed.
      Just a small one. I have gotten through to them in the past, as have a few members.

      My call was regarding an Internet issue if I recall correctly. I think it was just before the Royal wedding too.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky's system problems?

      I didn't think Sky had centres in India either, they had a centre in the Philippines, which some may have thought was India.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's system problems?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I didn't think Sky had centres in India either, they had a centre in the Philippines, which some may have thought was India.
      Thats what I thought as well.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION