Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Recording of a programme didn't stop

    This is a discussion on Recording of a programme didn't stop within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; last night I was watching a programme and decided to record the last 30 mins as I wanted to watch ...

    1. #1
      bryan's Avatar
      bryan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leith
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Technicolor TG582n Fibre Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD DRX890W
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Edinburgh
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Recording of a programme didn't stop

      last night I was watching a programme and decided to record the last 30 mins as I wanted to watch something else. Tonight when I went to watch the rest of the programme I found my Sky box was still recording the programme and so I stopped the recording. At this point I found that the length of the recording was approx 1407 mins close to 24 hours and was taking up 36% of disk space. This isn't the first time this has happened and while the recording seems to be fine it has recorded a lot of programmes after the one I wanted to record and had I not noticed what was happening it could have recorded all over various other programmes I haven't got round to watching yet as there was only 1% of disk space left when I cancelled the recording.

      I did a search of this website but couldn't find anyone else who has had this happen so i'm wondering if this is a common problem and is there a solution to stop this happening again? The first time I noticed this had happened I ended up with a long recording which seemed to have found space on the hard disk which didn't previously exist in that the recording was a lot longer than the available space that I knew was available and it didn't seem to have overwritten/erased any recordings waiting to be viewed. Has Sky devised a way to get boxes to record programmes using less disk space than previously for example?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      I've had that happen a couple of times, but ony ever on a specific channel (200) & when the programme was the last 1 at night before closedown.

      For these reasons, i put it down to being the broadcasters fault.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to gymno For This Useful Post:

      bryan (23-07-12)

    5. #3
      bryan's Avatar
      bryan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leith
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Technicolor TG582n Fibre Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD DRX890W
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Edinburgh
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      Thanks for that, while this wasn't channel 200 (it was channel 522 I think) it was started at 23.30 and should have finished at 00.00 although that wasn't close down on the channel it must have something to do with it..

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      Could you provide some further information for me on this please so that I can feed it back to Sky?

      Which programme were you recording?
      What date & time it was due to start?
      How did you set up the recording (i.e. Sky+ app, TV Guide, manually timed recording)?
      What is the current EPG version that you have installed?

      Note to self: Disc.History (SD only)

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #5
      bryan's Avatar
      bryan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leith
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Technicolor TG582n Fibre Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD DRX890W
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Edinburgh
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Could you provide some further information for me on this please so that I can feed it back to Sky?

      Which programme were you recording?
      What date & time it was due to start?
      How did you set up the recording (i.e. Sky+ app, TV Guide, manually timed recording)?
      What is the current EPG version that you have installed?

      Note to self: Disc.History (SD only)
      the programme was called "Jesus"
      it was on Saturday 21st July and started at 23.00
      I started the recording manually at about 23.30 having first changed the channel to another and back to the one it was on to cancel the bit I had already watched from being saved.
      EPG version is 5.08.6

      Hope this helps.

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      Phooey. You have the White Sky+ STB, not a Sky+ HD STB, my mistake. Sorry, I am trying to catch any issues relating to the new EPG on the Sky+ HD STBs.

      Unless someone on this forum recognises this issue, could I ask you to post a message on the Sky forum on this issue? I would hope that the Sky Techs can pick this up or you. It isn't one that I have seen posted in the last year and a half or so.

      Sky Help Forum - Sky+ Recording & Playback - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #7
      WolfMax's Avatar
      WolfMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      This has happened twice in the last 7 days on two different channels but luckily has not over written any other recordings.

      I have a Sky +HD Samsung 300GB box Ver. 973004 with EPG R005.054.15.00P.

      Cheers

    10. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Recording of a programme didn't stop

      My Pace HD box does this regularly.

      It also decides there isnt a satelite signal when changing channel and refuses to show the channel - any channel.

      Signal strength and quality are both excellent.

      Funny enough its only started doing this since the new epg.

      Can see this being the end of Sky for me as they wont want to give me a new box and I wont want anything less.

      Notice Virgin adverts now saying maintenance and spares included - mmmm.


    11. #9
      WolfMax's Avatar
      WolfMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Another weird thing

      Just finished recording BBC 1's 'Death in Paradice' and noticed if finished early. While looking into the reason, I found the time on the sky box was nearly 8 mins fast. I could not find a way to reset the time manually but struggle to see how it could be so wrong if the boxes take the time from the satalite signal (unless sky are sending out the wrong time signals).
      Anyone else having this issue?

      Cheers

    12. #10
      WolfMax's Avatar
      WolfMax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another weird thing

      Addendum.

      The time corrected when I cycled the power on the box and the box restarted.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION