Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    another magic eye issue

    This is a discussion on another magic eye issue within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; hi there i am new here and had sky in the weekend!! great watching but i am having issues setting ...

    1. #1
      fil_b's Avatar
      fil_b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      another magic eye issue

      hi there

      i am new here and had sky in the weekend!!

      great watching but i am having issues setting the magic eye up.

      so far.....

      we have sky going to the other 2 tvs in the house (brilliant)

      BUT..... we cannot get the magic eye to work. i can plug it in and the red light shows up but it will not change the channel on sky? sky button is pressed but nothing.

      its the tv link one similar to below

      NEW SILVER GLOBAL MAGIC EYE SKY TV LINK SKY PLUS + HD | eBay

      am i missing something?

      tar

      Phil


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      If you have Sky going to 2 other TV's apart from the main TV, then you probably have a splitter fitted which is not compatible with the Sky TV link system. Most splitters are directional and will not allow the IR return to pass through them although the voltage will work fine. Televes make a splitter that will work, or you could get a Global T120 amp.
      Last edited by Woodster; 10-06-12 at 11:24 AM.

    4. #3
      Richie Rich's Avatar
      Richie Rich is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky World HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Don't know myself
      Posts
      121
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
      Have you turned the RF Outlet power supply on, in the settings menu on the HD box?

      Press Services button followed by 0,0,1 select. You should get 'setup' highlighted in Orange. If not start the process again.

      Scroll along to 'RF Out' tab then push select. Scroll down and Turn RF Outlet Power Supply to 'on' then press the green button to save the settings.

      See how that goes.

    5. #4
      fil_b's Avatar
      fil_b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      yeah RF2 is on and on Channel 68

      and i did save after

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      In order for the Magic-Eye to work correctly you need to ensure that the coaxial cable is making good contact all the way. If you have a loose connection or a broken core at any point, the TV signal will normally continue, but the break will not allow the current to pass.

      With this in mind, start at the back of the Sky STB and gradually work your way through the whole length of your coax. Plug in the Magic-Eye at each point to see it it works.

      If you have a DVM you can check that the voltage is coming through correctly too. From memory it should be a little over 9v but I'm sure a search of this forum would confirm the correct voltage.

      If you have any connectors which you have fitted, consider crimping the core to the centre of the plug. Some plugs have small screws. Ensure these screws are correctly fitted. Also check the shielding is correctly connected too.

      My recent issue was due to a loose socket, which I have temporarily resolved. I need to get a new wall socket at some stage.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      Plug the eye directly into RF2 at the back of the digibox, cover up the front of the box completely, so that the box responds to the remote commands through the eye, not the front IR sensor, and see if it actually works.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      Quote Originally Posted by fil_b View Post
      i am new here and had sky in the weekend!!
      Yes, it was lovely here, too. Clear blue sky and rather hot!

      See Magic eye problems

    9. #8
      fil_b's Avatar
      fil_b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      further to this

      magic eye works directly in the RF2 output on sky. I have switched this off and on again with a reboot in between

      all the cables was tested prior to sky going in for connection issues - passed fine.

      magic eye lights up but sky cannot be changed from any other telly.

      so it looks as if it shoudl work but it doesnt.
      they are Rev 9 remotes, should this make a difference?

      tar

      Phil

    10. #9
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      Did you read my post above??? It actually tells you what your problem is!!!

    11. #10
      fil_b's Avatar
      fil_b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: another magic eye issue

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      Did you read my post above??? It actually tells you what your problem is!!!

      do you mean the quote to buy the book?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION