Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

    This is a discussion on 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi all, Please bare with me its hard to explain I am trying to set this up.......... In room1 I ...

    1. #1
      spluff's Avatar
      spluff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      Hi all,

      Please bare with me its hard to explain

      I am trying to set this up..........

      In room1 I have SKY HD connected to sattelite I have the RF out set to 68 and this is connected via RFOUT(powered) to room2.

      In room2 the sky box is connected to the satellite and has the RF OUT from the Sky HD box in the RF-IN. RF OUT (Powered) goes to Room3; the other RF-OUT goes to my tv in ROOM2. (The RF Out of this box is 66)

      This is then connected to the TV via SCART.

      The RF OUT of this is then passed to my kitchen which i have a magic eye.

      What I want to be able to do if possible is to watch the SKY-HD box in room2 and in room3 and watch the sky box in room 2 and room 3. Control the SKY+ and SKY-HD from both rooms if possible?

      Room1 im okay with just sky-hd.

      Is this possible


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      Yes. But not how you have done it.
      You need to get a Global SPC4 and a 2 way IR bypass amplifier. Plug the RF -2 from both boxes into the SPC 4 and the output from the SPC 4 into the amp, then from the amp to your TVs.

    4. #3
      spluff's Avatar
      spluff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      will i be able to use that setup with my current cable layout - as the cables are all laid into wall etc... ?

    5. #4
      spluff's Avatar
      spluff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      Could I stick some kind of amplified splitter from the RF-OUT from room1 that goes into RF-IN in room2 and into the TV in room2 directly.
      This would mean I cannot use the magic-eye in room3 to change channels in room1 (not too worried about this aslong as it changes room2 box)

      Is this correct? What would I need for this?

      2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms-skysetup.jpg
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms-skysetup.jpg  
      Last edited by spluff; 19-04-12 at 09:14 AM.

    6. #5
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      Yes, that should work with a SkyLink compatible splitter but read the notes here:
      Split Digibox RF outlet for other TVs

    7. #6
      spluff's Avatar
      spluff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      wonder if i should go for the passive or amplified

    8. #7
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: 2 sky eyes 2 sky boxes 3 rooms

      A splitter will work as long as it is "bi-directional" ie, it doesn't have a diode fitted so power will pass both ways through it. Televes make one. If you fit an amplifier, you may have to attenuate your TV aerial input as too much signal can be just as problematic as too little. If you have a cable that goes from 1 box to the other then you can fit the SPC 4 behind the 2nd box and then on to your 3rd TV.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION