Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Access to free hd channels

    This is a discussion on Access to free hd channels within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi I would be grateful if any one could advise me on how what I would need to do to ...

    1. #1
      sergio33's Avatar
      sergio33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Access to free hd channels

      Hi

      I would be grateful if any one could advise me on how what I would need to do to access 'Free HD channels'.

      I currently have an HD 'ready' TV and the standard Sky stuff through my satellite dish and following digital switchover a 'freeview box'. I understand I would probably need some additional cabling but given this setup would I be able to view stuff such as BBC HD.

      Grateful I someone could point me in the right direction.

      Cheers

      Sergio


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Access to free hd channels

      All you need is a tuner capable of HD. Either a Sky HD box, a freesat/view HD box or an HD tuner built into your TV.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Access to free hd channels

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      All you need is a tuner capable of HD. Either a Sky HD box, a freesat/view HD box or an HD tuner built into your TV.
      You would only need additional cables (from the dish LNB) to the Sky box if you planned to use the recording function of the Sky+ box, which of course needs a Sky subscription. You could buy a 250 Freesat PVR and not have any subscription but you would need the additional cable to achieve full use of the PVR. You would connect either system to the TV with an HDMI cable, using SCART would only deliver SD.

      Or you could buy a Freeview HD box and simply plug into your TV antenna and connect to your TV with HDMI cable.

      Personally I have a full HD TV with HD tuner as well as a Sky+ HD box. The terrestrial HD is just as good as Sky/Freesat delivered HD via satellite (at least on the channels available from both sources) but of course you can access many more HD channels from satellite because it has the capacity to deliver them.

      If you want to record HD programmes you will need an HD PVR which will come with dual tuners and EPG.

      If you just want the 'free' channels then the terrestrial solution might be simplest. An HD tuner will be cheapest but an HD PVR the most flexible (it use one antenna to produce both feeds to the tuners).

    5. #4
      sergio33's Avatar
      sergio33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Access to free hd channels

      Thanks foer the feedback

    6. #5
      sergio33's Avatar
      sergio33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Access to free hd channels

      Grateful for the feedeback

      regards

      Sergio

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Access to free hd channels

      An important footnote: Not all HD or HD Ready TVs have a HD Tuner.

      For example the Samsung LE40C530 has only an SD tuner. Whilst the Samsung LE40C580 and LE40C640 both do have a HD Tuner. Sad I know, but this is something that I looked into when looking for a new TV last year. I noted at the time that several Supermarkets were selling the 530 models (the 40 denotes to screen size for Samsung) at a nice discount.

      If you live in an area that has had Digital Switchover, the the Freeview HD channels start at #50.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION