Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

    This is a discussion on SKY+ Twin cable, one not working within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have SKY+ fitted in a room. The sky box is connected using a twin satellite cable, the cable in ...

    1. #1
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

      I have SKY+ fitted in a room.

      The sky box is connected using a twin satellite cable, the cable in sky input 1 works but the second cable does not.

      I have swapped cables over and the second input will work and the first does not, also I've tested a second Sky box there and can now confirm the cable does not work.

      I have since cut back the cable and reconnected the F Connectors hoping to fix it, again the input 1 works but the second does not.

      Does anyone know what would need to be checked next?

      I don't really have access to the LNB because of the position of the Sky dish, it's about 10cm above the porch and the cable input into the LNB on the satellite dish leaves about half an inch clearance. i.e. I don't want to do it because I could lose signal to all boxes if I accidentally misalign the dish when making space to plug in the LNB after swapping/removing it.

      Also, if that fails, how much would I would be looking at to have it repaired (SKY seems excessive at 65)?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

      65 is Sky's standard fee for a call out. Any work or replacement parts have a 3 month warranty.

      You may have at least one of the following faults:

      • failing STB causing the LNB to fail (typically a Thomson with a failing PSU)
      • faulty coax
      • faulty LNB

      You could consider finding a local firm and see what they might quote for someone to come out and take a look?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

      No ladders? Or is that still impractical? Either way, someone is going to have to look at the F-connector at the LNB. What's the Make of box, eg Pace, Thomson etc? Can you try another Sky+ box, a neighbour's/friend, just to confirm it's not the box that's faulty.?
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      Blue Lou's Avatar
      Blue Lou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

      I had swapped the sky+ box with sky box and alternated the cable. To me, it suggested that the cable is the problem.

      I've just got on a pair of step ladders and it looked closer at the LNB, the cables are all secured.

      An alternate choice I'm considering is to cancel the multi room subscription, and take out a new one with the SKY+HD 1tb offer for 109. Presumably the installer would then make sure it's fitted correctly ? :\

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

      Quote Originally Posted by Blue Lou View Post
      An alternate choice I'm considering is to cancel the multi room subscription, and take out a new one with the SKY+HD 1tb offer for 109. Presumably the installer would then make sure it's fitted correctly ? :\
      Yes and he would replace any parts that needed doing so, unless it is a self install offer.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: SKY+ Twin cable, one not working

      Quote Originally Posted by Blue Lou View Post
      I've just got on a pair of step ladders and it looked closer at the LNB, the cables are all secured.
      Unscrew the bad cable's F-connector and try an empty port on the LNB when possible. If you don't have a spare port, screw it back onto the LNB carefully. Is the connector wet or corroded? Switch the box off at the mains when disconnecting/reconnecting the cables.

      If still no joy, the cable could well be chafed somewhere or there's been water ingress .
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: SKY+ Twin cable, one not working


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION