Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

    This is a discussion on Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Since my main TV is a modern flat screen TV, I couldn't locate the Sender unit on top of it ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      Since my main TV is a modern flat screen TV, I couldn't locate the Sender unit on top of it if I wished. It is actually located on the bottom shelf of the TV stand, beside my DVD Recorder.

      The TV in my bedroom is an older flat screen CRT TV and the receiver unit sits on top of that. If I were to hide it, the the infrared signal from the remote control would not find the sender and nothing would work.

      You will have to persuade her that this is what is required for it to work how she wants. If she doesn't like the red LED which glows gently, and wishes to turn it all off, then she won't be able to watch her Sky TV either.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      yeah I see what you mean, so yours is on the end of a scart cable and the unit sits under the TV - its just Im wondering if there is such a model that plugs into the scart and has a IR receiver that runs off from it like the Magic Eye , one could then put the eye on top of the TV etc..

      I will show her them and see what she says

      thanks
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      I have a set similar to this - http://www.amazon.co.uk/Philex-Gold-...pr_product_top but I don't know if it will work with your box, I have a Samsung. The picture is not very high quality but it was good enough for the bedroom. I have a cable installed to my bedroom now so use it to send the picture from my CCTV DVR to my main TV, its fine for that. It can interfere with wireless broadband, but you can change the channel on the units or router to fix it.

      The IR sender is a small black bubble which is hardly noticeable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      Snadge, i forgot to post the link doh.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...uing-saga.html

      It was a DG400

    6. #15
      snadge's Avatar
      snadge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blaydon
      Broadband ISP: SKY Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      thanks Gymno - will take a gander

      hey Tom thats Ideal!! exactly what I was thinking of.. cheers - wonder if can get those in 5.8Ghz to avoid Dect, Wi-Fi and Microwave lol
      - Hardware - Netgear DG834Nv1
      - Line Attenuation - 27.5db
      - Sync Rate - 17,600k
      - Noise Margin - 7db
      - Latency - 28ms

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      You may be able to get them in 5.8 but most of the ones I have seen are separate units similar to Scubbies'. The biggest problem with the 5.8mhz is they are poor at penetrating solid walls.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Although I have a magic-eye, it isn't currently working first thing in the morning
      Because your TV chucks out massive interference until it has warmed up.
      Satellite and Freeview TV books

    9. #18
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      hi, i have just seen this thread ( i know its a tad old) but i need some help concerning the ..Nikkai Mini 5.8GHz Video Sender

      Model A31JL...i want to connect it to my SKY HD + box....as noted earlier the instructions for the sender are NOT the clearest in the world so here goes.......i have on my SKY HD + box 2 spare scart sockets...the one says DVD & VCR..the other one says TV..now which of those two should i be plugging my sender into ?...i have tried them both so far but to be honest running up and down stairs to see if they are working has taken its toll on me...neither has worked as of yet but i am NOT really sure i am connecting then correctly...so which scart socket should i be plugging into the one marked DVD & VCR or the one marked TV..if i can get that right then i can just happily stay upstairs trying to tune that tv in to pick up the signal.....many many thanks in advance for any help/information

    10. #19
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      Hi worcesterman47.

      The only difference between the 2 scart sockets is that the one labelled 'TV' is capable of outputting RGB quality signals in addition to PAL (composite) signals.

      Looking at your A31JL model online reveals that it uses a (yellow) rca phono cable for video, via a scart converter, which transmits composite video only.

      Therefore it shouldn't matter which socket you use.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to gymno For This Useful Post:

      worcesterman47 (16-10-14)

    12. #20
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Audio/Video Sender with Sky+ HD?

      hi again...thanks for the swift reply...so in a nutshell..i should be able to plug the sender scart plug into any of the two spare scart sockets on SKY HD + box....then make sure the same channel is selected on the receiver and sender...plug in the sender and switch on.....then go upstairs plug in the receiver into tv scart ..select same channel as is on sender..then switch on....and then try to find which channel is broadcasting the tv picture from downstairs tv....i know that it should be an AV channel but i could not get a picture on any earlier...but now i know how to make the correct connections i will persevere.....thank you very much for your advice/help...ALAN

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION