Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

    This is a discussion on How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello, I was wondering how I can ditch my TV and instead just connect my sky box to my imac? ...

    1. #1
      tommyturtle's Avatar
      tommyturtle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

      Hello, I was wondering how I can ditch my TV and instead just connect my sky box to my imac? Please can someone help a techno-phobe? Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lee2010's Avatar
      lee2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: billion 7800n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      161
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

      dont know anything about macs, but you will need a capture card fitted or a usb capture and software, only thing is you might loose the hd signal and have to rely on a analogue signal.

    4. #3
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?


    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

      I thought iMac's did everything straight out of the box.

    6. #5
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

      Use an ElGato EyeTV adapter with A/V input.

      (For Windoze users, that means "Audio/Video", not "Anti Virus".)

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

      Quote Originally Posted by MartinP View Post
      (For Windoze users, that means "Audio/Video", not "Anti Virus".)
      It's alright Martin, I know Mac users don't believe in Anti-Virus products.

      (Whether they should or shouldn't is a topic for another thread)

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: How do I connect Sky + HD box to a 27 inch I-Mac?

      Use an ElGato EyeTV adapter with A/V input.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION