Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Search Function

    This is a discussion on Search Function within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Just put my new sky 1tb box in Tried searching for programmes to series link and the search function does ...

    1. #1
      briski's Avatar
      briski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Search Function

      Just put my new sky 1tb box in

      Tried searching for programmes to series link and the search function does not work

      I know anytime takes a while to get up and running but surely the search function should be up and running out of the box

      Any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Search Function

      You are making quite a large encompassing statement there. Just what is it that you are searching for?

      The search facility on the Sky+ HD STB is pretty basic. For example if you put in 'Harriet' you won't get the series 'Young Jame Herriot'. Not only is 'Harriet' spelt wrong, you would only pick it up if you used the word 'young' to start with.

      'wars star' will not pick up the Star Wars films or Clone Wars series. Again you would have to search using 'star wars' in that order.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      briski's Avatar
      briski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Search Function

      Yeah I get what you are saying

      Searching for 'eastenders' for example with correct spelling and the search function can't find it

      Searching for finding nemo by putting in 'finding' with correct spelling comes back with no results but it's on tommorow

      Any solutions?

    5. #4
      briski's Avatar
      briski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Search Function

      Searching for 'WWE' finds nothing in tv guide but if I press right and go to planner it finds the WWE shows I have to record

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Search Function

      Sorry for the delay in responding, this morning I have run through it all again. I have also been thinking through things last night to see if there was something obvious that is being missing.

      Having entered 'finding' and pressed <Select> to perform the search I've picked up the following on the TV Guide:

      • Finding Financial Freedom
      • Finding John Christmas
      • Finding Nemo

      On the Anytime listing, just Finding Nemo (ready for downloading from the Anytime+ servers), which also happens to be on the Planner.

      I am not aware of any setting to disable the search facility, but perhaps it might help to check that you are not turning the STB off completely at night, for example.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Search Function

      Try putting the box into Standby for about 2 minutes, then switch the power off completely. Wait a few minutes then switch the power back on, wait another 3 minutes then press the Sky button. The box should switch on at the introductions page, press TV Guide then see if Search works.

      If that does not work, try a Sky+ rebuild by pressing Services button, 001, then Select, 7 then select twice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Search Function

      Quote Originally Posted by briski View Post
      Searching for 'WWE' finds nothing in tv guide but if I press right and go to planner it finds the WWE shows I have to record
      I tried the WWE search last night. First time it came up with nothing under 'TV Guide', so I scrolled right to 'Anytime' then back to 'TV Guide' which then showed all the listings. I think it may occasionally need several seconds to recover the required info from the hard drive.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION