Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!?

    This is a discussion on Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I just got Sky Multi room fitted with the new Sky HD box, the simplest one. It is however in ...

    1. #1
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!?

      I just got Sky Multi room fitted with the new Sky HD box, the simplest one.

      It is however in a cupboard away from the living room and I need to find a way to be able to control it from the living room. Does anyone have any reccomendations of what I could use, An eye which connects via RF isn't possible as the Sky box doesn't have those inputs therefore looking for something else.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!?


    4. #3
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!?

      Might be cheaper to buy a used Sky box that has the RF2 output!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!?

      I would agree with Martin, they is no really cheap solution to this. Something like this might work, but it is expensive for what it does. http://www.letsautomate.com/10404.cfm?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Getting an IR sensor, Sky Box in a Cupboard!?

      Then sell the new Amstrad and make a profit!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION