Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Sky V Tivo technology

    This is a discussion on Sky V Tivo technology within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Sorry to disagree, but the Gadget Show is recorded in HD & broadcast on Channel 5 HD....

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      Sorry to disagree, but the Gadget Show is recorded in HD & broadcast on Channel 5 HD.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,390
      Thanks
      403
      Thanked 166 Times in 160 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sorry to disagree, but the Gadget Show is recorded in HD & broadcast on Channel 5 HD.
      Ah but is it actually being broadcast in HD?

      It isn't highlighted in orange (which I believe signifies that a show was made in HD and is being broadcast in HD) on the Sky EPG listing for Channel 5 HD!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #13
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,390
      Thanks
      403
      Thanked 166 Times in 160 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      Quote Originally Posted by SadBloke View Post
      But then again it's the Gadget show, so expect a superficial item telling you nothing as usual!
      There was time (I think!) when The Gadget Show was more serious than it is nowadays.

      In my opinion, it seems to have gone down the "Top Gear" road of veering away from being serious about its subject matter and generally moving more towards being entertainment.

      Also the last few series have been longer than they used to be and more often (two, maybe three series in a calendar year) so I guess they are a bit stretched to produce a lot of heavyweight material with that kind of schedule.

      The odd item is useful and interesting but as I say it's more often than not just entertainment!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #14
      mcphailan.'s Avatar
      mcphailan. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      66
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      SKY+ HD may not allow recording of 3 channels, but it's a darn fine box with some of the most intuitive software I have ever used (and I'm in IT).

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      Ok, looking at tonight's episode, I guess most of you will be drolling in an unstoppable manner for that walkway and the 360 degree display.

      I took a little more careful look at the imagery and will admit that I was wrong as the images of the presenters were not in HD when in the studio. However the sound does differ between SD & HD, so I'll continue to what the HD version.

      As for the Sky vs Virgin article, their conclusion was that both offer good and bad points.

      Sky was quicker to respond & Virgin's TiVo offered more variety. They mentioned that the TiVo allows to to record 3 channels, whilst watching another previously recorded. The Sky+ HD STB could technically do this too.

      Two channels can be recorded from live TV, a program can be downloaded from Anytime+ and you can watch a film that was previously recorded, all at the same time. Obviously the 3rd one isn't live, but it is possible

      As for the different Players - Come on Sky! We demand better!

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #16
      JPL's Avatar
      JPL
      JPL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      286
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      Surely it's not just the STB that has to change. A Sky dish has a twin LNB; this would have to be replaced by a quad one to enable use of three or four tuners rather than the current two.
      JPL

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      A very valid point.

      Since the cost of a Quad-LNB is quite low, it is standard practise on new installations to fit one.

      I don't know when Sky stopped using twin LNBs as standard.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      I thought they used single LNBs as as standard?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Wasteman's Avatar
      Wasteman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      One aspect of the TiVo I do like is that you can link a NAS drive to it and massively expand the potential storage space.

      It would be nice if Sky could make more use of their USB, eSata & LAN ports and allow people to easily expand the storage space available and to also allow people to use an app such as Sky Go to stream content from their own STB to a Laptop or iPad or some other device connected on their home network.
      Is there any way of expanding the sky+ box using an external hard drive at the minute?

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Sky V Tivo technology

      Quote Originally Posted by Wasteman View Post
      Is there any way of expanding the sky+ box using an external hard drive at the minute?
      Sadly not. This is something that some TiVo support. I am not sure if the version used by Virgin falls into this category.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION