Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

    This is a discussion on Need more info on Sky+ Anytime within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; i wouldn't mind sky+ anytime, but how exactly does it work? Is the media streamed down the ethernet cable or ...

    1. #1
      lethagized's Avatar
      lethagized is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brierley Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

      i wouldn't mind sky+ anytime, but how exactly does it work? Is the media streamed down the ethernet cable or does it come through the dish? If it comes through the dish, why does the box need to be connected to a router? Encryption or authorisation?? Surely they could build that into the viewing cards?

      Also, can someone suggest a standard sky+ box that is compatible with Sky+ anytime that i can get on the cheap off ebay?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      Sky anytime comes via the dish
      Sky anytime+ comes via your broadband connection and requires a sky hd+ box


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 20-09-11 at 12:59 AM. Reason: rubbish typing and cant edit using tapatalk!

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to reddwarfcrew For This Useful Post:

      lethagized (20-09-11)

    5. #3
      lethagized's Avatar
      lethagized is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brierley Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

      Can you have more than one STB connected through a series of daisy chained routers?

      For example, I've got the main crappy sagem F@ST 2504N router daisy chained to another router. Could i plug 2 or more Sky+ boxes into the second router and have full functionality of the Sky Anytime+

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

      You can piggyback multiple routers to the Sky router using the guide in this thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      An alternative way would be to use Network Switches.

      Any Sky+ HD STB or SkyHD STB can be connected to any network port which in turn connects to the main router. For other ideas on what you can use to create a network (which is what you are suggesting) please take a look at the guide in this thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...e-network.html

      Currently if you wish to receive Anytime+ content you must be connected to either Sky's Home Lite or Unlimited Broadband packages.

      Additionally you could use a 'WiFi Media Bridge' to connect any Sky+ HD STB or SkyHD STB via WiFi to the Sky router or any WiFi access point..

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      lethagized (20-09-11)

    8. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

      I've got a sneaky feeling that you can only activate one STB for Anytime+. I'll have to check up on that one though.

      EDIT - Looks like i was wrong http://helpforum.sky.com/t5/Sky-Anyt...box/td-p/88925

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to reddwarfcrew For This Useful Post:

      lethagized (20-09-11)

    10. #6
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

      I have anytime + on both my my drx890's

      the first person i spoke to said i could only have it on the first box
      i just hung up and phoned again

    11. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Need more info on Sky+ Anytime

      I was going to say that there has been several members on this forum reporting that they have been able to get two STBs working with Anytime+ on one account.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION