Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

    This is a discussion on Can this be right? Sky+ bullies! within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My mum is a pensioner whose Sky+ is practically her lifeline! She is disabled so can't get out an awful ...

    1. #1
      winwick's Avatar
      winwick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      My mum is a pensioner whose Sky+ is practically her lifeline! She is disabled so can't get out an awful lot. Anyway, her Sky+box is on the blink and Sky have told her that they don't do Sky+ boxes anymore and that she will have to have an HD one with an HD subscription. Obviously there is a cost implication to this that is beyond what my mum wants to pay (and can really afford to pay). They have told her this is the only thing they can do for her.

      How can they say this when the Sky website clearly shows that they are offering Sky+ boxes to new customers (think these are HD boxes with the HD switched off) and telling them they can upgrade to an HD subscription whenever they are ready?

      Also, my mum has an old TV and it would be completely pointless having HD.

      I have told her to ring them back and play hardball but she is scared to do it. She might get my sister on the case, and they won't want that!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Sky hasn't actually supply the Sky+ STBs for some considerable time now.

      I would recommend that if possible you call on her behalf. You may need to be with her when you do this as they will need to verify that they can talk with yourself on her behalf.

      I'm pretty sure that she can get a new Sky+ HD STB without the HD subscription, but they may wish to charge her a little extra.

      The alternative is to search places such as eBay and purchase a 2nd hand STB.

      I should mention as well that if she does get a Sky+ HD STB then they will very likely need to change the LNB at the same time. Many old LNBs won't react fast enough for the new Sky box and she'll get occasional errors unless this is completed.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Get a second-hand box off Ebay or some such. All you have to do then is phone Sky and have the existing viewing card paired to the new box.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I'm pretty sure that she can get a new Sky+ HD STB without the HD subscription, but they may wish to charge her a little extra.
      You can do this as my Brother did and he didn't take the HD package either. I am not 100% sure but I thought he said he got the box for free as a new customer.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      You can do this as my Brother did and he didn't take the HD package either. I am not 100% sure but I thought he said he got the box for free as a new customer.
      That's the problem Alan, if you enter as a new customer you get all the perks. If you just want a box to replace an old Plus box, you have to pay for it. If you upgrade to HD you can get a free, or almost free box, but not unless you are prepared to pay the HD subscription.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Many old LNBs won't react fast enough for the new Sky box and she'll get occasional errors unless this is completed.
      Much as I love to sell new LNBs, I have to point out that this is absolute rubbish.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Quote Originally Posted by MartinP View Post
      Much as I love to sell new LNBs, I have to point out that this is absolute rubbish.
      Is this is why some members have had to replace their LNBs because their Sky+ HD STBs have reported specific errors?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      LNBs can certainly fail but there is no question of old LNBs being "slower to react".

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      I think it's reasonable to assume that the older any equipment is the poorer it's performance will be.

      Theory is great and in theory I'm sure you are correct but reality is more appropriate

      In theory the psu in v1 Thomson hd boxes is perfectly adequate and for many it is but we all know the problems it causes

      Theory and pedantic is great but the world is ran by reality.

    11. #10
      Aves's Avatar
      Aves is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LVCHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Can this be right? Sky+ bullies!

      Quote Originally Posted by winwick View Post
      Sky have told her that they don't do Sky+ boxes anymore and that she will have to have an HD one with an HD subscription.
      Whoever has told you this is talking utter nonsense. There are several options available to her, including the one given.

      • A service call can be booked where the engineer will replace any and all faulty equipment. This includes replacing the Sky+ box for another Sky+ box.

      Yes we do still replace Sky+ boxes where there is a fault, even though Sky would prefer everyone to move to the newer HDs. Sky will do one of 3 things with this option. Charge 65 for the service call, provide the service call free-of-charge if it's the first service for some time, or suggest you take out the extended warranty at 8.25 a month which would cover the immediate and any future service calls.


      • You can take up the existing customer offer to upgrade to Sky+HD for free, including free set-up if you take the HD pack at 10.25 a month extra.

      Obviously this isn't the best option as you have stated the extra monthly cost isn't really acceptable.


      • As an existing customer, you can purchase a new Sky+HD box without the HD subscription.

      The downside to this option is that since you already have a Sky+ box, you aren't likely to be eligible for the discount price on the box of 99. Which means they are likely to want to charge the full unsubsidised cost of 199. Obviously not ideal.


      • You can tell them that you want to speak to the cancellations department, and explain the situation to them.

      When you are put through to the cancellations department (retentions), it is their job to make sure that you don't leave in any reasonably practicable way. So given the situation, they are likely to either provide you with a standard service call free-of-charge if it has been refused previously. Or they may even be able to push through a new HD box for you at no charge (with or without the HD pack). Only way to find out for sure is to speak to them.

      What you might find is that they have been able to do everything else for you free of charge, but the system has locked the standard set-up cost of 60 to the order because there is no HD pack selected. If this is the case, the only people who are going to be able to rectify the issue are either retentions or technical (Escalations). So personally I would wait and see if the escalation is done for you, and take the route of the last option if it isn't. There is always a way around things like this, so just persist and it'll pay off in the end.

      On a side note, if you're speaking to any contact center other than Livingston then I would suggest asking to be transferred there; as they are the ones who have full access to all the systems, and the experience and expertise to sort problems like this out.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION