Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

    This is a discussion on Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello, YouTube - ‪Sky signal issues‬‏ I've been having this issue for a couple of months now, with no solution ...

    1. #1
      fosman's Avatar
      fosman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      Hello,

      YouTube - ‪Sky signal issues‬‏

      I've been having this issue for a couple of months now, with no solution forthcoming. I have ANOTHER engineer booked to come out from Love Digital, but in the mean time, I wanted to see if the hive mind might have a solution to my problem. I've also manged to capture the issue on video, the link can be found below.

      I am getting messages saying no Satellite Signal is being recieved - however, this only occurs when I try to flick to a HD channel. Flicking back to some other channels means I get a signal again. A hard reset loses everything.

      I think that it occurs (although it's not consistant) when I come out of a recorded programme and onto a HD channel. The only way to recieve a signal again is by doing a full hard reset (ie, pulling the power out for a couple of minutes).

      I've tried planner rebuilds, software updates, freeing up harddrive space, the works. The problem still occurs.

      A Sky/Love Digital engineer came round, did a planner rebuild/software update (again) said 'nothing's wrong') and left fairly abruptly. This morning, the issue presists.

      Here's a video of what I got this AM. As you'll notice, I have a picture on a number of channels, then when I flick to a one, it knocks out the signal. Flick back to a working channel, and I seem to get signal back on Input 2. A soft reset kills everything, planner, second signal, services etc. Hard reset means I get both signals back.

      Any ideas?!

      Issue: YouTube - ‪Sky signal issues‬‏
      After Soft reset: YouTube - ‪Sky signal issues‬‏
      (PS, sorry for the rotation of the vid, it was before the morning coffee hit!)

      Thanks in advance for any advice.

      f


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      The satellite input to #1 is not registering.

      I would suspect that either:

      • the STB is faulty
      • the coax is not correctly connected
      • the F-Plug is not correctly fitted
      • there is a problem with the coax lead or
      • the LNB port has gone down

      To confirm that it is not the STB, swap the satellite feeds and see if the issue transfers to the 2nd input.

      If it does transfer, then read through this link and check the connector:
      How to fit F Connectors to coaxial cable

      With regards to the coax & LNB, these will take a little extra work. Carefully inspect the entire length of the coax lead and look for anything that is broken or piercing the coax.

      The LNB may be as simple as swapping the coax from one port to another, provided that you have a spare port. Sky used to install only 2-Port LNBs, but current practise appears to be to install a 4-port LNB as the norm.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      fosman's Avatar
      fosman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      Sorry, to clarify:

      Normally, I get signal into both channels with no problem at all.

      A hard reset fixes the issue. If you look at the second video, it shows both signals going down. The connections are fine (have been checked, swapped etc) and this occurs ONLY when switching to some HD channels after viewing something on the planner.

      I'm not sure it's an issue with the signal/cabling, as hard reset picks everything up again.

      It feels like a software issue to me - but I could be wrong?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      Specifically which model STB do you have?

      The model number will be on the rear and sometimes it is underneath as well.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      Well known software fault with Darwin on certain Amstrads, mainly. I think the box is too quick to register a 'No Satellite Signal' error when switching polarity and/or band on older LNB's, or maybe just certain makes. That's just a theory. I mentioned this on the Sky Help Forum a few weeks ago. No response.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    7. #6
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      I agree. I think a new LNB could fix it. Older LNBs can be slow to lock.

    8. #7
      fosman's Avatar
      fosman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      Hi all,

      I posted a while back to try and resolve this problem and it seemed to correct itself. However - the problem has now come back.

      Few updates:
      I'm watching Sky now - majority of HD channels read "No satellite signal is being received" (25). Most SD channels work fine.
      There seems to be a pattern in the error - between midnight at 11am, I get a full service - it starts failing at other times.
      If I try to hard reset, I lose everything and have to keep hard resetting until it finds any signal.
      I've had a number of engineers come round, all of whom have been stumped.
      I now have TWO sky boxes - when the error occurs, I swap the boxes around and the problem exists on both boxes.

      So, I'm guessing it's an environmental disturbance with the dish, cables or signal, not with my box.

      I live in a block of flats, but unfortunately, I'm the only one that has sky even though it's from a communal dish. I'm thinking that I have a problem with birds, that are landing or nesting on the dish. I'm about to go out and buy some spike strips so see if that helps, but can anyone think of any other issues - or even if birds landing on a dish would impact signal in this way?

      I would really appreciate some help, this has driven me crazy for over a year!

      Best,

      f

    9. #8
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky Signal issues (with VIDEO)

      I think you need the dish re-aligned, maybe even replaced. How old is it? And the LNB? Cabling? If you're the only person on the system, it often means it's gone unserviced for many moons.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION