Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Unable to get hidden menu ?

    This is a discussion on Unable to get hidden menu ? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi everyone, Having spent 50 years of my life in central Glasgow we have now relocated to the Highlands. My ...

    1. #1
      skronk's Avatar
      skronk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edinbane
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Hi everyone,

      Having spent 50 years of my life in central Glasgow we have now relocated to the Highlands.

      My SkyHD box gets news from Aberdeen. I would like to get Scottish news from Glasgow. I have been told if I get installer menu and enter a Glasgow postcode prior to reinstall, this would get me Glasgow news.

      Is this correct?

      I have also tried services 0,0,1, select. The first 0 changes to another screen but the following numbers input do nothing.

      Any help appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      I have also tried services 0,0,1, select. The first 0 changes to another screen but the following numbers input do nothing.
      Think on it as 001, not 0,0,1. When you enter 001 and press Select, that takes you to the installer screen.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      skronk (06-07-11)

    5. #3
      skronk's Avatar
      skronk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edinbane
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Think on it as 001, not 0,0,1. When you enter 001 and press Select, that takes you to the installer screen.
      Spot on Isitme. Does as you say. Cannot find option to change install postcode. Any ideas ?

      Thanks

    6. #4
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Quote Originally Posted by skronk View Post
      Spot on Isitme. Does as you say. Cannot find option to change install postcode. Any ideas ?

      Thanks
      Your post code is not stored in the Sky Box - it's stored on your Sky Card, which you can't write to, so you're wasting your time. You should be able to find the BBC and ITV regional variations in the EPG.

    7. #5
      skronk's Avatar
      skronk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edinbane
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Old_nick View Post
      Your post code is not stored in the Sky Box - it's stored on your Sky Card, which you can't write to, so you're wasting your time. You should be able to find the BBC and ITV regional variations in the EPG.
      Unfortunately STV HD is a bit of a nightmare.

      Thanks anyway. So if we moved back to Glasgow would Sky give us a new card ?

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      I think you could set it up as an 'other channel' but I don't know what settings you would use. At the moment you will be getting STV North and what you want is STV Central. Maybe Ken, who knows a lot about the settings required for different stations, will come in and give you some advice.

      I think the cards are automatically updated to the region they are used in.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      davemurgatroyd's Avatar
      davemurgatroyd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01865
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyHD multiroom
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Sky will NOT change the allocated regions on EPG 101 to 105 for you. They are contracted to the broadcasters to provide the regional allocations the broadcaster has set for your postcode. So unfortunately you will have to view your wanted region by adding it manually and viewing it via "other channels" - note also you will be unable to pause or record from other channels.Alternate BBC regions are on EPG 971 upwards.

      Details for adding the channel will be found in this list of all channels - note that at present you can also add STV +1. STV HD and ITV HD if required.

    10. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      I have now found that going to Add Channels and entering
      Frequ...........10.906
      Pol.................V
      Sym.............22.00
      FEC.............5/6
      Press find channels - STV is listed 3 times, East, West and North? But which is which? Looks like you have to enablle them all and find out which is the one you want by trial and error.

      Dave seems to have forgotten to put in the list of channels.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #9
      skronk's Avatar
      skronk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edinbane
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Quote Originally Posted by davemurgatroyd View Post
      Sky will NOT change the allocated regions on EPG 101 to 105 for you. They are contracted to the broadcasters to provide the regional allocations the broadcaster has set for your postcode. So unfortunately you will have to view your wanted region by adding it manually and viewing it via "other channels" - note also you will be unable to pause or record from other channels.Alternate BBC regions are on EPG 971 upwards.

      Details for adding the channel will be found in this list of all channels - note that at present you can also add STV +1. STV HD and ITV HD if required.
      Thanks, are you sure you can manually enter STV HD. I thought I could only get that on Freeview HD.

    12. #10
      skronk's Avatar
      skronk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: edinbane
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Unable to get hidden menu ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I have now found that going to Add Channels and entering
      Frequ...........10.906
      Pol.................V
      Sym.............22.00
      FEC.............5/6
      Press find channels - STV is listed 3 times, East, West and North? But which is which? Looks like you have to enablle them all and find out which is the one you want by trial and error.

      Dave seems to have forgotten to put in the list of channels.
      Thanks. Got the 3 STV's. None are marked. All just STV in the list.
      Will try at 6pm and see if I can get STV News Central Scotland.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION