Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    No HD sub but get some HD anytime

    This is a discussion on No HD sub but get some HD anytime within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have an HD box but no HD sub and still get some HD content on Anytime for channels I ...

    1. #1
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      I have an HD box but no HD sub and still get some HD content on Anytime for channels I subscribe to (e.g. Sky Living in HD), which is nice..... Bug or known feature?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Barny Mike's Avatar
      Barny Mike is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01271
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Barnstaple, N Devon
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      Is that Anytime or Anytime +

      I don't have a HD sub and Anytime is a waste of time as it is full of HD content that I'm sure I can't watch.
      It may have changed recently I will switch it back on and have a look.

      I suspect its a bug.

      Mike

    4. #3
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      Just normal Anytime. I have only been HD-sub-free for a fortnight, so can't be sure whether it's just a legacy of old HD programmes that were put on Anytime whilst I had the HD sub....time will tell. When I play them sometimes strange things happen like pause/ff does not work or the "can't display prog information" message appears briefly. But they can be viewed in entirety in HD!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,234 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      A lot of people were complaining over the Anytime content being all HD and that they couldn't view it.

      Just before last Christmas they did allow subscribers who had both Movie packs to view the Anytime Movies, even when they were in HD. This was also repeated for Sky sports subscribers I believe.

      I am wondering it they have expanded this to cover other channels now?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      will let you know scubbie et al whether this "behaviour" continues.

    7. #6
      Barny Mike's Avatar
      Barny Mike is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01271
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Barnstaple, N Devon
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      Can view the non premium HD channels without a HD subscription.
      The majority of Anytime programs are from the Movies or Sports channels.
      Not a lot there for non-premium subscribers

      Mike

    8. #7
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      I rebooted my box last night (heavy rain was affecting signal) and the Anytime "bug" mentioned above appears to have disappeared - some newer HD content was removed anyway !

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,234 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      Anytime content is transmitted over the Satellite, just like Sky 1, etc.

      The Sky+ STB tunes in to a channel that broadcasts only SD content.

      The Sky+ HD STB tunes in to a channel that broadcasts only HD content, with some SD content.

      The Sky+ HD STB does not tune in to the Sky+ STB's channel. If this were the case, the you would have more Anytime content.

      The result is that at the moment my Sky+ HD STB has 51 recordings on Anytime. Of these 22 are from SD channels. The remainder are all from HD channels.

      Although I've been relatively good recently, Anytime can not record whilst you are watching one channel & recording another or recording two channels at once. This means that some people may have more content available, whilst others may have less.

      Since all the content is kept for a specific time, which is set by Sky or the broadcaster, the actual content will continually change over time.

      I trust that this helps you to see that things appear to be fine with your current STB?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      Not worried about STB at all Scubbie, just wondered why I was (temporarily it seems) getting some "extras", i.e. HD content that I have no subscription for.

      PS, have a sky+ hd box.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,234 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: No HD sub but get some HD anytime

      Quote Originally Posted by mcphailan View Post
      Not worried about STB at all Scubbie, just wondered why I was (temporarily it seems) getting some "extras", i.e. HD content that I have no subscription for.

      PS, have a sky+ hd box.
      I realised that you had the Sky+ HD STB. The issue is that the Anytime content is pushed to the type of STB, not your subscription.

      The idea for much of it is promotional. I have no personal interest in subscribing to the Sports channels, yet quite a lot of the content on my Anytime at the moment is from Sky Sport 1 & 2. The idea is to show what you could watch on the other channels, as much as we think that you;ll like this new series or film.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION