Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Kenedin

    tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

    This is a discussion on tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi there, new user here; been reading these pages all week trying to sort my problem and you guys seem ...

    1. #1
      mike5958's Avatar
      mike5958 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      Hi there, new user here; been reading these pages all week trying to sort my problem and you guys seem to know what you're talking about! Any help would be much appreciated!!

      Basically ive just switched from sky+ to +hd on main tv set downstairs. Everythings perfect downstairs, terrestrial, digital and sky all working fine on the main set. Only problem is my upstairs tv, which has a magic eye connected, isnt picking anything up at all other than dvd player through scart.

      I checked rf out is on downstairs and also put my old sky box back in to check the output channel, which was 38, and switched the hd box from the default of 68 to 38 but to no avail. No led light on magic eye upstairs. Im convinced theres no dodgy cabling etc as its worked great for two years since new digital aerial install but all of a sudden wont work when changing sky box.

      Have retuned both tvs but nothing picked up upstairs where ive changed no cables. Im sure ive plugged something in wrongly spmewhere though!

      Any help would be amazing!!

      Thanks in advance,

      Mike


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      Re you sure you have the right coax cable conected to the rear of the new HD receiver and that it is in the RF2 out?

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Smithy99 For This Useful Post:

      mike5958 (04-06-11)

    5. #3
      mike5958's Avatar
      mike5958 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      Nope not sure to be honest, not very good with cable types, can i attach a photo to show what i have?

    6. #4
      Knightlore's Avatar
      Knightlore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      It will be labeled as RF2 out. if your looking at the back of the box it's usually the one on the right, the others being ariel in and RF1

      This thread as a nice big piccy

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...hd-manual.html

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Knightlore For This Useful Post:

      mike5958 (04-06-11)

    8. #5
      mike5958's Avatar
      mike5958 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      Coaxial is in rf2 out then in to wall is that right?

    9. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      Have you enabled the RF2 Power as well? You should have the Red light on the magic-eye showing if this is the case.

      Using your remote control, press:

      <Services> <Right> <Down> 0 1 4

      'RF Outlets' should now be highlighted.

      RF Outlet Power Supply should be 'On'. If it is 'Off' press <Down> <Down> <Right> <Green>

      If this still does not work, then I would highly recommend that you bring the magic-eye and the TV to the Sky+ HD STB and plug them into the RF2 output.

      Check that the red light on it illuminates and see if you can change channel using it. You'll have to cover the circular display on the front of the Sky STB before hand, to ensure that it can't accidentally receive the remote signal before hand.

      Often when people have had problems like what you are describing, it has been a simple case of the coax leads going to the wrong place or the leads not being plugged in properly.

      Another resolution has been to crimp the core wire to the core of the connector.

      As for how your RF2 output is normally connected to you other TV, there are too many different ways that someone could possibly do this to comment.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      mike5958 (04-06-11)

    11. #7
      mike5958's Avatar
      mike5958 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      thanks everybody for your help, switched the cables in the main set downstairs - turns out i did have coax and aerials mixed up (and a male-female connector on the wrong cable)!!

      upstairs tv is back in working order.

      magic eye has a red light etc etc etc.

      sky working in both rooms.

      perfick.

      thanks again guys,

      Mike

    12. #8
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      Quote Originally Posted by mike5958 View Post
      .........thanks again guys......

      Mike
      And gal ( Scubbie )
      Scubbie likes this.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    13. #9
      mike5958's Avatar
      mike5958 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: tv upstairs not working since switch to sky hd

      And gal!!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION