Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Connecting Sky+HD box, Samsung LED TV and Sony DVD recorder

This is a discussion on Connecting Sky+HD box, Samsung LED TV and Sony DVD recorder within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi I am a complete novice at this so would appreciate any help that can be given. I have purchased ...

brianmulligan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Connecting Sky+HD box, Samsung LED TV and Sony DVD recorder

Hi

I am a complete novice at this so would appreciate any help that can be given.

I have purchased a Sony RDR-DC100 DVD/hard drive recorder and wish to hook it up to my TV and Sky+HD box.

The equipment has the following rear connections:

Samsung LED TV: ANTENNA IN, EXT(RGB), AV IN, COMPONENT IN and HDMI 1,2,3,4
      Samsung Sky+HD boxISH INPUT 1 & 2, HDMI, AERIAL IN, RF OUT 1 & 2, VCR/DVD SCART and TV SCART
      Sony RDR-DC100 DVD recorder:AERIAL IN & OUT, SCART LINE 1/DECODER, SCART LINE 2 –TV and HDMI OUT

I tried various combinations but even though I can play DVDs, I cannot seem to tune the DVD recorder into the TV to search for the SKY channel (when I auto search digital channels it doesn’t pick anything up).

If anyone could advise me on the best way to hook these up so that I can record from the SKY+ HD box to the hard drive of the DVD recorder I would be most appreciative. If I have left any relevant details out, please let me know.

I tried

Many thanks.

Brian Mulligan

2. Advertisement
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts