Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky text

    This is a discussion on Sky text within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; HI, Can anyone please help.I have not used teletext for years. I tried to use it last night via the ...

    1. #1
      sparkie415's Avatar
      sparkie415 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01303
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      folkestone
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky text

      HI,
      Can anyone please help.I have not used teletext for years.
      I tried to use it last night via the sky remote, pressed txt button, message appeared press TV first then txt , which i done.Nothing happened, repeated several times nothing happened.
      Is there a secret to this or am i doing something stupid.
      Switched over to free view and used TV remote control and it worked fine

      thanks for any help

      .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky text

      For some channels you can use your TV's text service, others you can use the 'Text' button on the Sky remote, others use the 'Red' button.

      It really depends on which channel you are using and how it broadcasts the text services.

      I just experimented with my own TV and found that using the HDMI connection it locks me out from text services, but I can access them on the Scart connection.

      Channel 4 allowed my TV to use it's teletext service over Scart, but I was locked out on HDMI.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky text

      I tried to use it last night via the sky remote, pressed txt button, message appeared press TV first then txt
      This suggests you were tuned to a channel which does not have teletex with Sky and you were being advised to access it direct through your TV. If you go to BBC News, channel 503 and press the Text button, you will be taken to the BBC teletext service, which I think is the best. Sky's service is next to useless and difficult to navigate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      sparkie415 (02-06-11)

    6. #4
      sparkie415's Avatar
      sparkie415 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01303
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      folkestone
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky text

      Cheers once again Tom.

    7. #5
      sparkie415's Avatar
      sparkie415 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01303
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      folkestone
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky text

      Thanks Scubbie

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION