Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

    This is a discussion on Sky hd channels 4:3 only! within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, Hd channels on my box transmit in 4:3 only, not all the time, but most - I've tried to ...

    1. #1
      Frank pole's Avatar
      Frank pole is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0137537178
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

      Hi,

      Hd channels on my box transmit in 4:3 only, not all the time, but most - I've tried to alter this in settings but to no avail - I only watch on sd now

      Any ideas guys?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

      Programmes such as X-Files & ST:Voyager were originally recorded in 4:3 mode.

      Sky HD channels automatically fill in the space either side of your HD picture with a pair of black pillars. If you go to the SD channel, you will find these are missing.

      Watch & Gold broadcast only in SD and don't have these pillars when show programmes such as Last of the Summer Wine.

      The idea is to keep the ratios correct and not stretch them to fill the screen.

      Personally I hate it when a face is stretched out of proportion or a round object becomes mishapped and flattened into an oval shape, so I like the ratio to be correct.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Frank pole's Avatar
      Frank pole is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0137537178
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

      Yes I understand what you mean but I'm watching itv news right now in sd because if I switch to hd it's 4:3 only - all my neighbours have no probs receiving itv hd in 16:9. - it's just me

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

      ITV1 HD live content is broadcast in 16:9 ratio.

      I'd suggest that you press the 'Picture Size' or 'Picture Ratio' button on your remote control for the TV to see if this is the issue.

      With some TVs, selecting 'TV' on the Sky remote and pressing the 'Play' button will also change the ratio.

      Looking at Sky 1 HD right now, The Simpsons is an old episode broadcast with the bars I mentioned. America's Next Top Model on Sky Living HD is also a 4:3 show. ER on Sky Atlantic is showing in 16:9 ratio.

      Most advertisements are also now all 16:9.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Frank pole's Avatar
      Frank pole is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0137537178
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

      I've tried my hd box on my neighbours tv and the 4:3 problem still exists on itv hd etc - time for a new box me thinks!

      But thankyou for you input!

    7. #6
      Rossi46's Avatar
      Rossi46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky hd channels 4:3 only!

      Quote Originally Posted by Frank pole View Post
      I've tried my hd box on my neighbours tv and the 4:3 problem still exists on itv hd etc - time for a new box me thinks!

      But thankyou for you input!
      Have you checked the aspect ratio settings on the Sky box settings menu? (not the telly menu). Make sure whatever has a choice of 16:9 set it to 16:9 not 4:3 or auto.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION