Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Multiroom Sky Plus

    This is a discussion on Multiroom Sky Plus within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have the full package of Sky options, TV HD (full package), Broadband (unlimited) and the talk plan (unlimited). I ...

    1. #1
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      159
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Multiroom Sky Plus

      I have the full package of Sky options, TV HD (full package), Broadband (unlimited) and the talk plan (unlimited).

      I want to get a sky plus box for my dining room (not HD) (The dish already has 4 connections with 2 available).

      What should I be asking Sky for, What are the likely costs....Kit, setup etc

      Thanks Al

      I've asked Sky a couple of times and can' get a definative asnswer


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nk1989's Avatar
      nk1989 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      If you want a box with Sky + capability in a second room you will need to buy an HD box from Sky without the HD Sub active on it. If you already have an HD box then this will cost you round about 199 + an installation fee of around 60. Previously you could of possibly got an old Sky +/HD box from a friend or from Ebay but this may cause an issue now. Sky have recently changed the way we can pair cards to boxes, therefore anyone using a box previously owned by someone else will not be able to have their card paired.

      To avoid installation fee's you could possibly order a self-install box and pay a delivery fee of 15 and not pay the installation, how ever this would only be if you feel you could install it yourself.
      I got mojo

    4. #3
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      159
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      Thanks for the information...

    5. #4
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      therefore anyone using a box previously owned by someone else will not be able to have their card paired.
      i recently(week ago) paired up a sky +box owned previously by my daughter,one phone call all sorted and i get all my channels and anytime

    6. #5
      nk1989's Avatar
      nk1989 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      Quote Originally Posted by pat46 View Post
      i recently(week ago) paired up a sky +box owned previously by my daughter,one phone call all sorted and i get all my channels and anytime
      You are very lucky then lol
      I got mojo

    7. #6
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      159
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      just to update. I got a letter from Sky saying they would update my Sky box for free. I had an old Thomson box which could not receive Anytime+. I decided to get multiroom at the same time. I bought a 1tb box for 49 plus 60 fitting... I use the 1TB in the main room with the replacement box going in the dining room. I got 3 months free multiroom as part of the deal. I tried to get a wifi box out of them as well but no joy. I bought a netgear universal adapter for 34.50 ish from Amazon as I'm told they work just as well. Will let you know, its due to arrive today.

    8. #7
      Awest3's Avatar
      Awest3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01527
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      159
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      All working perfectly.....why pay 60 or even 46 on ebay for a sky device

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      Quote Originally Posted by nk1989 View Post
      You are very lucky then lol
      Rubbish, I've paired ebay boxes loads of times and again did so a couple of weeks back.

      Never been an issue and is a 5 min phone call.

    10. #9
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Multiroom Sky Plus

      Quote Originally Posted by nk1989 View Post
      Sky have recently changed the way we can pair cards to boxes, therefore anyone using a box previously owned by someone else will not be able to have their card paired.
      What happened to the "second hand contract" card?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION