Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    communal satellite, single feed?

    This is a discussion on communal satellite, single feed? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; This old chestnut. I am about to get sky plus HD but have a communal satellite dish. I understand the ...

    1. #1
      andyfto's Avatar
      andyfto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      communal satellite, single feed?

      This old chestnut.

      I am about to get sky plus HD but have a communal satellite dish. I understand the implications of single feed etc and if this is a problem I will just use Anytime +.

      The question I have is how can I tell if I have twin feed?
      In my living room I have a twin socket faceplate, 1 socket has "sat" and the other has "uhf"/"vhf" marked on it so naturally I think ok single feed. The complication is that there is another faceplate with a single socket about 5 inches further along the wall with nothing marked on it, there is also a blanked faceplate.

      If I plug my standard freeview coax cable into any of these sockets I get freeview reception. Does this mean anything in particular, should the sockets all have the same connector (f plug I think??).

      The building I am in is about 8 years old and was built to a really high standard so I'm wondering whether a twin feed setup was considered when the cabling was installed. I will try contacting the building factors but I imagine they will have no idea what I am on about. None of my neighbours appear to have Sky so no luck there. Any thoughts?

      Cheers,

      Andy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      It sounds line the other socket is the original and you have had an upgrade to include Sat, this does only seem to be a single feed upgrade which is a shame, you wouldn't receive freeview if it was a satellite feed.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      Getting a second feed is your best bet, if you possibly can. You might be able to get one of the VHF cables converted to the dish. It depends a lot on how the cabling has been done. One of the recommendations for running Sky+HD on a single feed is turning off Anytime, which would rule out your hopes for Anytime+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      andyfto's Avatar
      andyfto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      This doesn't sound to promising.
      I was hoping I could use anytime plus as this is what one of my friends who works for Sky does to get around the single feed issue apparently.
      I will speak to the building factors and see if anyone has requested this kind of thing before as they are the factors for hundreds of flats in this area and I wonder if the issue has been raised by other tennants.

      Cheers,

      Andy

    6. #5
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      Quote Originally Posted by andyfto View Post
      This old chestnut.

      I am about to get sky plus HD but have a communal satellite dish. I understand the implications of single feed etc and if this is a problem I will just use Anytime +.

      The question I have is how can I tell if I have twin feed?
      In my living room I have a twin socket faceplate, 1 socket has "sat" and the other has "uhf"/"vhf" marked on it so naturally I think ok single feed. The complication is that there is another faceplate with a single socket about 5 inches further along the wall with nothing marked on it, there is also a blanked faceplate.

      If I plug my standard freeview coax cable into any of these sockets I get freeview reception. Does this mean anything in particular, should the sockets all have the same connector (f plug I think??).

      The building I am in is about 8 years old and was built to a really high standard so I'm wondering whether a twin feed setup was considered when the cabling was installed. I will try contacting the building factors but I imagine they will have no idea what I am on about. None of my neighbours appear to have Sky so no luck there. Any thoughts?

      Cheers,

      Andy
      This means that you live in an area that has good transmitter reception. I think you will get freeview even if you take the cable out from the faceplate but leave it attached to your TV.

      How many flats\apartments are there in your building? Where is the satellite located? Is it accessible?

    7. #6
      andyfto's Avatar
      andyfto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      Regarding the post above, I tried moving the cables about whilst looking at the signal strength and you are correct, the signal strength is strongest from the uhf/vhf socket but I still get reception from the other sockets.

      There are 6 flats in my building with a further 6 next door but I have no idea if It's 1 satellite per building or 1 is shared between the 12. Will see if I can figure it out tomorrow.

      The satellites I have seen are right on the top on the roof next to the terrestrial aerial and don't look very accessible.

      Cheers,

      Andy

    8. #7
      andyfto's Avatar
      andyfto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      I have had a good look and it seems that there is 1 satellite between 18/24 flats which can be accessed from the top floor of a communal hallway through a roof hatch located right next to the dish.

      I'm still no further forward with the building factors who don't seem to know who knows what with regards to the provision of cabling from the satellite to the flats.

    9. #8
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      If the satellite solely feeds that many flats there should be a multiswitch in place somewhere (utility room?). I would expect it to be somewhere inside the building as it requires electricity.



      Have a look around and see if you can find something like that.

    10. #9
      andyfto's Avatar
      andyfto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: communal satellite, single feed?

      Thanks for the reply, I know exactly where it will be but the access door is locked and I don't have a key. Will see how the installation goes and then get onto the building factors to see if I can get another feed if possible.

      Andy

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION