Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    sky+ to philips hdd connection

    This is a discussion on sky+ to philips hdd connection within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; probably already answered/covered in another thread - but as a newbie I can't find it! just need some help connecting ...

    1. #1
      dodgydavis's Avatar
      dodgydavis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky+ to philips hdd connection

      probably already answered/covered in another thread - but as a newbie I can't find it! just need some help connecting my sky+ hd to philips 3440h recorder. have connected as follows sky+ to 3440h with scart, 3440h to second tv (for monitoring) with scart. get the sky pic on both tvs but can't get 3440h to record what's on my sky+. (it's probably easy!). everything SEEMS to work ok, but 3440h shows "tv/loop" and I end up with nothing on the 3440h's hard drive!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky+ to philips hdd connection

      Looking at the manual for your Philips DVDR3440H, it looks like you should be able to do what you are asking.

      Can you confirm the following:

      1. That the Sky STB is connected to Ext2 (the top Scart connector)
      2. That the TV is connected to Ext1 (the bottom Scart connector)
      3. That you are attempting to record from EXT2/AUX2, not Ext1/AUX1

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      dodgydavis's Avatar
      dodgydavis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky+ to philips hdd connection

      1. That the Sky STB is connected to Ext2 (the top Scart connector)
      2. That the TV is connected to Ext1 (the bottom Scart connector)
      3. That you are attempting to record from EXT2/AUX2, not Ext1/AUX1

      Thanks for responding Scubbie -
      1. YES
      2. YES
      3. How do I select EXT2/AUX2?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: sky+ to philips hdd connection

      Quote Originally Posted by dodgydavis View Post
      3. How do I select EXT2/AUX2?
      Page 14 of your manual shows a picture of your remote control.

      Although I don't have the same device as you, it is normal to press the 'Source' button to select the correct input. Personally I would press this and watch the display cycle through the different inputs until either 'EXT2' or 'AUX2' is displayed.

      Forgive for stating both EXT & AUX as different machines/manufacturers use either one.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION