Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

    This is a discussion on Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, Since Friday, I've not being able to receive Channel 4 HD (140). It comes up with the following error: ...

    1. #1
      andwan's Avatar
      andwan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      London
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      Hi,

      Since Friday, I've not being able to receive Channel 4 HD (140). It comes up with the following error: 'No satellite signal is being received 25'.

      This may have something to do with Channel 4 HD being moved to Eurobird. I don't know.

      Anyway, all the other channels are fine. All except for Channel 4 HD (140). I've tried resetting the LNB, powering down the box from the mains and powering it up to no avail.

      On the signal screen, Input 1 signal strength and quality is good. But Input 2 signal strength and quality shows nothing and input 2 indicator shows not locked.

      Anyone else experiencing this since Friday 18th March?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      Definitely no problem here with channel 4 HD.

      Since Input 2 is showing an issue, I would be inclined to guess that you may have a Thomson STB which is developing a fault.

      Check the make & model of your STB. If it is a Thomson search this forum with the terms 'Thomson PSU'.

      I would also double check the satellite cable. It might be worth swapping the input 1 & 2 leads over to see if this shows that the problem is actually your feed.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      andwan's Avatar
      andwan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Merton
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      London
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      Hi,

      It's a Samsung 500GB box and it only happens only on one channel, Channel 4 HD (140). Just so happens its the one I watch quite frequently. I would imagine if it is a PSU issue, more channels would be affected.

      I will give the swapping the input 1 & 2 leads ago.

      Thanks.

    5. #4
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      andwan
      Hi have a look at the link.
      http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&sou...Wr8vbQ&cad=rja

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      andwan
      Hi have you tried to do a reboot. switch off. unplug at wall, wait for a couple of minutes plug back in at the wall, wait for the box to reset switch on with remote and then see if ch4 is working.

    7. #6
      bubsy83's Avatar
      bubsy83 is offline Banned
      Exchange: brecon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Its moved to 12607, V, 27500, 3/4 Qpsk

    8. #7
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      It has moved to Eurobird 1, 12606Mhz, V, 28250, 3/4. Note it is the only transponder there using 28250 as a SR. The others are 27500. I don't know if this is a temporary measure pending Channel 4HD launch on Freesat next month, but it may be causing a problem on a few boxes ( for whatever reason ). There are only a relative handful of posts on forums about this problem, so it's not really a general issue.

      The only advice at this stage is to either sit tight until the SR changes, or to fine tune your dish alignment for Eurobird.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. #8
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      It has moved to Eurobird 1, 12606Mhz, V, 28250, 3/4. Note it is the only transponder there using 28250 as a SR. The others are 27500. I don't know if this is a temporary measure pending Channel 4HD launch on Freesat next month, but it may be causing a problem on a few boxes ( for whatever reason ). There are only a relative handful of posts on forums about this problem, so it's not really a general issue.

      The only advice at this stage is to either sit tight until the SR changes, or to fine tune your dish alignment for Eurobird.
      Confusing details available. King of Sats http://en.kingofsat.net/pos-28.2E.php shows C4HD is on a steerable spot the details are (updated 20/3/11):

      Eurobird 1 12606.65 V
      Spot F4 Steerable 1
      DVB-S2 QPSK 27500 3/4
      40.9 Mbps NID:2 TID:2614

      Which of course is not the same as the adjacent spot beam:

      Eurobird 1 12607.00 H
      Spot F3 Steerable 1
      DVB-S QPSK 27500 2/3
      33.8 Mbps NID:2 TID:2613

      If it is a steerable spot them the geographic location of the receiving equipment may be important.

      Also the two spots are very close in frequency but one is V and the other H. Maybe the LNB s skew needs better adjustment?

    10. #9
      bubsy83's Avatar
      bubsy83 is offline Banned
      Exchange: brecon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      Just double checked my setup, these are what are showing for 4HD and it is working perfectly.
      Freq - 12607000
      Symbol - 27500
      Polo - V
      Mod - Qpsk
      Only channel on that frequency will be CH4HD

    11. #10
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Channel 4 HD - 'No satellite signal is being received 25' since Friday March 18th

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      ......Confusing details available....
      I know. Mine from Linowsat, updated daily.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION