Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

    This is a discussion on Persistence of volume control on Sky remote within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello again, I successfully configured my father-in-law's Sky remote last Friday to operate the volume setting on his TV. He ...

    1. #1
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Hello again,

      I successfully configured my father-in-law's Sky remote last Friday to operate the volume setting on his TV. He has just informed me that this setting has been lost.

      Is it common for this setting to disappear? Is it possible that some combination of buttons would cause his remote to revert to factory settings?

      Once again all views are appreciated.

      John



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      If anything, your FIL has probably left the batteries out for a while. He definitely wouldn't know the button reset sequence, lol
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Many thanks for the prompt reply, Kenedin.

      I will pop round to FIL this morning, he is not normally inclined to take the batteries out, so I find this strange.

      I also take your point about the button reset sequence, it's unlikely he would key in 981 after holding down select and the red key together, although you never can tell with my father in law.



      John

    5. #4
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      FYI guys, I reset the remote, easily, this morning, using the Sony code 0533.

      Only explanation I can think of is that he is using cheap 1 shop batteries in his remote which be prone to failure, causing him to lose the progamming?

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      The instructions for changing the batteries make it clear that they should be replaced promptly.

      I purchased a large pack of 1 batteries last summer for a friend. She hasn't had a problem with her remotes with them.

      This kind of backs up what Kenedin was saying and your Father-in-Law's reluctance to change the batteries.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Trouble is, Scrubbie, that the batteries have been changed, recently by my FIL.

      What you say about 1 batteries seems to rule out my idea as well.

      Thanks for replying anyway.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Is it possible that he removed the old ones, went hunting for replacements, then returned with them after an hour or so?

      I always regard the 10 minute window advised on the inside of the cover with a degree of scepticism, but with an almost dead set, I guess this isn't such a huge margin.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Possible but very unlikely, Scubbie, apols for mispronouncing your Forum name in earlier post, def no offence intended.

      Many thanks for all the contributions, but I think it may be better to close this thread now and I will monitor at FIL's.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Quote Originally Posted by heathwoodjohn View Post
      Possible but very unlikely, Scubbie, apols for mispronouncing your Forum name in earlier post, def no offence intended.
      I hadn't noticed

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #10
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Persistence of volume control on Sky remote

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I hadn't noticed
      Oh good, and yes I see funny side


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION