Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Magic Eye and Cabling

    This is a discussion on Magic Eye and Cabling within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi guys, Can't get magic eye to work after running RG6 cable from living room to bedroom, first I checked ...

    1. #1
      Madstuthe1st's Avatar
      Madstuthe1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Magic Eye and Cabling

      Hi guys,

      Can't get magic eye to work after running RG6 cable from living room to bedroom, first I checked that the magic eye worked when connected straight to rf2 which it did. I decided to cut a length of the cable to test from the sky box and the magic eye doesn't work when connected so I need to know what type of cable would work. I was under the impression that RG6 would be ok for this installation.

      Thanks for any help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Magic Eye and Cabling

      RG6 will work fine for a magic eye, not recommended for satellite, but OK for UHF signals. It's probably poor connections. Use all metal coax plugs, crimp or solder the centre core to the plug pin and make sure you don't strip off the braiding as it should make good contact with the plug body.

    4. #3
      Madstuthe1st's Avatar
      Madstuthe1st is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Magic Eye and Cabling

      Thanks for that, will double check the connections

    5. #4
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Magic Eye and Cabling

      There has to be a good DC contact all the way through. The most likely culprits are the co-axial plugs. Don't use the ones where the wire pushes down the centre pin, because these are designed to be soldered. Use the plugs which have a screw connection, which you can get from Maplin, if you can't find them elsewhere.

    6. #5
      mark3's Avatar
      mark3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Magic Eye and Cabling

      im having the same prob the rf2 is set but im not getting a picture its just all fuzzy i tried bypassing the magic eye to see if it was faulty but i just get the same. surlely if i run a cable directly from the rf2 to the second TV i should get a picture.... please help

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Magic Eye and Cabling

      To see if these problems are a connection issue, do either of you have a DVM? It so, you could try a continuity test on the cabling.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Magic Eye and Cabling

      Try connecting the RF2 output to a TV with a known good cable (buy a short length cable from a DIY shop). If this doesn't work, the Sky box is faulty. The RF output modules have been known to fail in some Sky boxes.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION