Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Taking Sky abroad

    This is a discussion on Taking Sky abroad within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi guys, I have a question in regards to taking my sky subscription abroad. I am currently renting a flat ...

    1. #1
      drchris's Avatar
      drchris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Taking Sky abroad

      Hi guys,

      I have a question in regards to taking my sky subscription abroad.

      I am currently renting a flat in London, and planning to move to another European city soon. I am planning to take my skyHD+ box with me and viewing card, and install a dish to receive sky.

      However, is my subscription tied to my flat? In other words, if the next tenant tries to get sky, he won't be able to, correct (As sky will tell him there is already another subscription for that flat? How can I go about it?

      Thanks
      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      I don't think this is the best place to ask how to get around the Sky T&Cs...

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      You've spotted the big flaw that most people miss when you take a Sky STB with you. It really depends on what the new Tennant wishes to do.

      If you can live without the Sky channels, it would be safer to downgrade the box to Free To Air channels or purchase a FreeSat box. the later would also mean that you could record channels too.

      Alternatively you could search the web to see if there are any ex-pat support groups. They may well have some suggested methods for you.

      Good luck with your move.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      drchris's Avatar
      drchris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      sounds good - thanks chaps

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      Sky will not allow you to use their service outside of the UK.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Sky will not allow you to use their service outside of the UK.
      True, but it is also known that some people do find ways around it.

      But then this poster doesn't know his chap from his chappess.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      drchris's Avatar
      drchris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      Um what's that supposed to mean?
      Of course there are ways. Sky doesn't allow it but it doesn't stop it either...

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      Maybe there are ways to get it illegally but then again, you could get many things that way but it is best not to involve other people in your activities.

      These things have a way of biting you on the behind, in fact there has been a few cases on here recently complaining about it and the money they have lost.

    10. #9
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      Quote Originally Posted by drchris View Post
      Of course there are ways. Sky doesn't allow it but it doesn't stop it either...
      You have conceded that Sky have to have a UK address for the account.

      Because the satellite system is static there is no way of them tracing your location, true, but they do attempt to disrupt illegitimate services from time to time, e.g. by reissuing viewing cards. From other reports they appear also to be tightening up on multiroom accounts by insisting both boxes are permanently connected to a phone line, stopping someone in the UK taking a second box for use by 'a friend'.

      if Sky do find out you are not in the UK then they will suspend or cancel your account and not refund any money you have paid up to that date. It's all in their T&Cs and has been tested when people have been found out in the past.

    11. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Taking Sky abroad

      Simply put it is possible as long as you can find someone who will let you use their address and can connect to astra 28.2 from your new location.

      How to receive - ASTRA

      You could also take the slingbox route to play safe.

     

     

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION