Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

    This is a discussion on Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi ya i am new to this, also this is my first post am looking for any help with getting ...

    1. #1
      bezmon's Avatar
      bezmon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      Hi ya

      i am new to this, also this is my first post

      am looking for any help with getting my Sky back up and fully running

      FYI i live in a block of flats with a communial dish and a single feed only

      for the past couple of days about half of my channels have simply stopped working stating "no satelitte signal being recieved" most annoyingly its has effect all of my HD sports channels and the SD version!!! some of the HD movies work not all.

      for example 520 doesnt work yet 536 does (discovery)

      please help, sky CS say after a 30 mins call that an engineer visit is neccassary costing me 65 or 8.25 per month for 12 months for a warranty plan?

      any advice greatly appriciated.

      Cheers

      Carl


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      I would hope that the CS person checked that you are on 'Single Feed Mode'. In case this is not what happened, perform the following:

      On your remote, press <Services> <Right> (now highlighting Settings) <Down> <0> <0> <1> <Select> <Down>

      On your screen now you should see that the Single Feed Mode is On, if not please change it.

      The next thing that could be causing you a problem is if you have a Thomson Sky+ HD box and the PSU is failing. If this is the case, then you could search eBay for a replacement kit. Have a look at this forum first for the better brand though.

      How do you know which model you have? Easy: look at the rear of your STB. There are various manufacturers who have made Sky boxes over the years.

      Post back if any pf this has worked or failed. Others can provide more info.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      bezmon (10-02-11)

    5. #3
      bezmon's Avatar
      bezmon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      Hiya

      thanks for getting back to me

      YES i do have a THOMPSON box and from reading on other threads i think this maybe a common theme.

      if an engineer was to come out at 65 how do i know that the problem will be fixed??

      Many Thanks

      Carl

    6. #4
      bezmon's Avatar
      bezmon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      sorry also yes i am using the "single feed mode"

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      There are a lot of posts on this forum regarding the issue with the PSU in the Thomson box. Search 'thomson psu' and you will find a lot of success stories and links to where to order the parts.

      Your box is out of warranty, so if you are comfortable with doing the work, you could save a few s and do it yourself.

      If the Sky engineer comes around, he/she is unlikely to fix it, but is more likely to swap your STB for a reconditioned box. This would mean that you would loose all your saved recordings.

      The replacement could be any of the HD STBs that Sky have had made. It would really depend on what he/she has in the van.

      Judging by what others have discussed, the fix could last for several years. There is more than one type available though. The cheaper option replaces like-4-like. A more expensive option provides a unit that will last much longer.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      bezmon (09-02-11)

    9. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      Make sure that the fault is not with the communal system by checking first with other people in the block.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Kenedin For This Useful Post:

      bezmon (09-02-11)

    11. #7
      bezmon's Avatar
      bezmon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      i have checked with a few neighbours and they report no problems is looking more and more likely to be my box

      Cheers

      Carl

    12. #8
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      OK. So it's pretty certain that one or more capacitors on the box are kaput.

      If you want to keep the box for whatever reason, get a RELKIT33JS from Satcure for around 17 incl p&p, then get a Local Repairer near you to do the job. Mine did it for 17 ( rates vary elsewhere in UK ). I also upgraded the hard drive to 500Gb. Very successful all round.

      If you're not fussy about keeping the box, phone Sky. Tell them your Thomson has gone faulty. Other people have complained bitterly about Sky's poor Thomsons and their well-known capacitor fault, and have been lucky enough to wangle a new box. Try it.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Kenedin For This Useful Post:

      bezmon (10-02-11)

    14. #9
      bezmon's Avatar
      bezmon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      think im going to go for the sky enginner @ 65

      another question does anyone no if i end up getting a "refurbed" box will that come iwth any warranty?

      Cheers

      Carl

    15. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Sky+ HD error 28 and half channels not working

      Normal industry practise is to provide a 1 or 3 month warranty. I don't know which Sky go for, but if they do replace the box, make sure it isn't another Thomson. It will likely have the same problem further down the line.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    16. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      bezmon (10-02-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION