Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted?

    This is a discussion on Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I had sky hd installed today. I am happy with it but the engineer just drilled a hole through the ...

    1. #1
      ChillSkyHD's Avatar
      ChillSkyHD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted?

      I had sky hd installed today. I am happy with it but the engineer just drilled a hole through the wall, pulled the cables through and just attached a small round plastic plate to the hole? Is this normal?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,251
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted?

      Yep.

      That is designed to stop any draft.

      If he were to have fitted a plate in the wall for you to plug a short extension lead for the Satellite aerial, then this could reduce the signal strength.

      Another way would be to fill the hole with something. Should the cable get damaged, it would then be expensive to remove it.

      Enjoy your viewing tonight.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Medicuk's Avatar
      Medicuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Poplar
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Free to Air
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted?

      Yep that's all you get.

    5. #4
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted?

      The reduction in signal strength (about 1dB) won't affect anything, so you can fit a wall plate if you want. It avoids having the cables messed up when you decorate.

    6. #5
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Had sky hd installed but no faceplate fitted?

      If you do fit a plate, make sure it has a threaded connector that goes all the way through:
      Amplified splitters, Loft Boxes and Wall Plates

      Avoid the ones with an open (unscreened) printed circuit board on the back. They are designed for American TV aerial connection and won't work properly for satellite LNB connections.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION