Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    This magic eye should be working, right???

    This is a discussion on This magic eye should be working, right??? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I used to have a magic connected before I had mulitroom and now wish to connect it up again to ...

    1. #1
      Garawa's Avatar
      Garawa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      This magic eye should be working, right???

      I used to have a magic connected before I had mulitroom and now wish to connect it up again to the pc so I don't have go up stairs to watch another channel. I have used the same equipment as before but something isn't working.

      I used the same cable but the ends off and re-connected. The previously installed aerial and FM aerial all works fine so I know my connections should be good but I am not getting a red light on the magic eye. Somehow I have 2 and neither show a light.

      I plugged both into the RF2 socket directly and got red lights on both. The RF2 power option in the installer menu is set to on. Thinking it may be the cable, I connected the digibox end into the RF1 socket and the tv end into its aerial socket and I got a picture! (This obviously will not switch the channels).

      So I know the cable must be good and the magic eyes both switch on when connected directly so I don't understand why not when on the same cable they worked with before?! They can't both be faulty can they? Have I missed something? They should light up when connected with the cable shouldn't they without being in the tv/pc?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      Magic eyes need a good DC connection on cables. Which means soldered (or at the very least) crimped plugs. Just pushing the centre conductor of the cable down the pin will work for TV signals, but it won't pass DC currents.

    4. #3
      Garawa's Avatar
      Garawa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      Thanks, I didn't do that before so maybe I was lucky. Which bits would I be soldering, its not a problem for me. Is it the inner core to the part that goes into the sky socket? If so, do I just slide the inner core in and then solder as best I can around the base?

    5. #4
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      The centre pin is the one which usually has the bad contact. The co-axial plug is one of the hardest to solder, because the insulation melts easily. I would not attempt to solder an old plug - you will have enough trouble with new ones ! Try crimping the end of the pin, if you don't want to solder.

    6. #5
      Garawa's Avatar
      Garawa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      If I am crimping, which bit am I crimping or am I using the wrong plug? Looking at the 2nd picture in this image shows its hard to get to where the inner core goes into it and the end is metal. I can see where I would solder it but, as you say, with a high risk of melting the plastic insulation. Grrr, this is harder than I thought!!!!!!

      High Quality Coax Plug : Aerial Connectors : Maplin

    7. #6
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      With most makes of coaxial plug, the inner pin will push out of the outer aluminium case, and it's this inner pin that requires soldering or crimping. If you are unsure of doing this, there's other solutions - (1) get a plug with a grub screw on the inner terminal (like the Maplin FD85G), or (2) get a wall plate socket with screw terminals (Maplin BW55K) and use a ready made plug-to-plug lead to connect the Sky box or TV to the socket on the wall.

    8. #7
      Garawa's Avatar
      Garawa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      Ah, didn't realise that popped out! I would prefer to use the existing equipment first so will give the crimping a go. I will put a bit of solder on the core first as well to give it more bite I think and will see what happens!

    9. #8
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

    10. #9
      Garawa's Avatar
      Garawa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      I have flashed the core with some solder so it's a nice tight fit now. I put a voltmeter onto it and it registers around 3.5V. Is that normal? If so, it appears I have 2 duff magic eyes that have gone wrong both at the same time and in the same way!!!!

      At least I have 2nd location tv even if I have to keep running up and downstairs!!!!

    11. #10
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: This magic eye should be working, right???

      Quote Originally Posted by Garawa View Post
      I put a voltmeter onto it and it registers around 3.5V. Is that normal?
      No.
      It should be 9 volts,centre positive.

      Check on the back of the box.
      If it is still showing 3.5v you have a box fault.

      I have a Panasonic box and the RF2 output is fed from a very small chip which controls the voltage and this had failed so no magic eye.

      Andy

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION