Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

    This is a discussion on Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; If you are having problems with signal Quality and strength loosing picture. No signal. Look at your Sky dish and ...

    1. #1
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      If you are having problems with signal Quality and strength loosing picture. No signal. Look at your Sky dish and If the snow is building up between the LNB and the dish gently remove the Snow that is between the dish and LNB and your Signal will go back to full strength. How do I know it happen to me. Saves ringing Sky.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      daid85's Avatar
      daid85 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      Cheers will check when i get in as im having this problem, Box keeps droping signal 1 and cant get a lock. But seems to be only on input 1. Im not sure but i think it started a day or so before the snow fall for me. Fingers crossed that it is just snow.

      Dave

    4. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      Remember that it's not only snow on the dish that can cause signal loss, severe local conditions ( including over uplink sites ) will also cause this. My signal went adrift ( forgive the pun ) early this morning, yet there was no snow on the dish, just an extreme blizzard descending on the City. My dish is outside my ground floor living room and is sheltered from the worst of the weather.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    5. #4
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      heavy cloud cover can affect signal during snow storms and heavy rain showers, the clouds block line of sight to satelite

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      Thanks for the input all helps in averse weather.
      Kenedin
      Hi Lost the Signal on Saturday night the Dish was covered with Snow.Well the bar to the LNB and above the LNB. Cleared the snow of and in the services full signal Quality and strength back. Happened again Sunday and this morning. But as you know a lot of Snow has fallen on the East coast. Washington about 3ft in the garden. Everything seems to be grinding to a halt. Sky`s 5 day forecast for Washington Snow Snow Snow.

    7. #6
      dools26's Avatar
      dools26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      I've been losing signal on certain channels this past week. Am disabled so can't check the dish. Is this something that will solve itself when the weather clears? We've had a good thaw today but very foggy and freezing once again and the problem has reoccured.

      Very annoying as it always seems to be the channels that I want to watch!!!

    8. #7
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      Please post the Make & Model of your digibox, and how long you have had it. Standard or Sky+? Which channels are missing ( if BBC/ITV, which region? ) and what is the error number on the 'No Satellite Signal' message? Do you have your own dish?

      If you are receiving most of your channels, the fault is unlikely to be down to snow etc, possibly a fault within the box.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. #8
      dools26's Avatar
      dools26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      The box is a Grundig. Not sure of the model. Had it since sky went digital almost lol.
      We're losing sky 3, discovery realtime +1, shed, disscovery history+1 and science +1 that I know of.
      They are off right now but they tend to come back on around lunchtime, then go off again in the evening but it's patchy.
      All the others seem ok.

      We have our own dish too. The error number is 28.

      Sounds daft but it also seems to improve when the sun is round that side of the house. Early morning and evening with no sun seems to be when it's completely off. Yesterday it was quite bad and we had cloud. Possibly coincidental though lol.
      Last edited by dools26; 05-12-10 at 11:12 AM.

    10. #9
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      Well, the channels you have listed are all beamed from Eurobird, at a slightly different alignment than for the Astra cluster, and as your signal drops out at certain times of the day ( not 24/7 ), I would suggest your dish may have dropped slightly out of alignment. Or your LNB or digibox are just feeling their age a bit.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    11. #10
      dools26's Avatar
      dools26 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Snow Between LNB and Sky Dish

      Many thanks.
      May be time to upgrade to Sky + or HD then if we have to call them out, rather than doing so and then upgrading a few months down the line.
      Will give it a while and get through Christmas while we can still get the majority of channels!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION