Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    to ethernet or not to ethernet

    This is a discussion on to ethernet or not to ethernet within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I am going to try and connect my sky router to my sky+ HD box using an ethernet cable ...

    1. #1
      vacaloca's Avatar
      vacaloca is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      to ethernet or not to ethernet

      Hi,
      I am going to try and connect my sky router to my sky+ HD box using an ethernet cable to access sky anytime+.
      Should I be using a particular type of ethernet cable to maintain speed and quality or would an off the shelf cable do the trick.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      DesertRaven's Avatar
      DesertRaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Virgin Media
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Reading, UK
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: to ethernet or not to ethernet

      Quote Originally Posted by vacaloca View Post
      Hi,
      I am going to try and connect my sky router to my sky+ HD box using an ethernet cable to access sky anytime+.
      Should I be using a particular type of ethernet cable to maintain speed and quality or would an off the shelf cable do the trick.

      Thanks
      The Sky issued routers (and Sky HD boxes) are 100Mbps so any CAT 5e cable will be more than good enough. Just don't run it along side any power cables and you'll be OK.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to DesertRaven For This Useful Post:

      vacaloca (18-11-10)

    5. #3
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: to ethernet or not to ethernet

      Any CAT5e or better cable will do the job. You can get a 5 metre lead on eBay for a couple of quid.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to SadBloke For This Useful Post:

      vacaloca (18-11-10)

    7. #4
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: to ethernet or not to ethernet

      Ethernet using Cat5e is pretty much immune from external interference, and, being digital, one brand of cable is not going to out-perform another.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Old_nick For This Useful Post:

      vacaloca (18-11-10)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION