Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Losing Sky connectivity

    This is a discussion on Losing Sky connectivity within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hello everyone, I am fielding a question on behalf of my father in law who has the basic Sky set ...

    1. #1
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Losing Sky connectivity

      Hello everyone,

      I am fielding a question on behalf of my father in law who has the basic Sky set up in his flat.

      He often gets the message ‘This program is unavailable due to a fault, please try again later.’ In fact ALL channels are affected.

      This is resolved by switching off the Sky box at the plug and switching back on again after a few seconds.

      I was just wondering if there is a more elegant solution?

      All views are appreciated.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,205
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Losing Sky connectivity

      If it keeps on happening then perhaps there is a problem with the box, has he contacted Sky about it ?

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Alan b For This Useful Post:

      heathwoodjohn (17-11-10)

    5. #3
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Losing Sky connectivity

      Is he on a communal system??
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Kenedin For This Useful Post:

      heathwoodjohn (17-11-10)

    7. #4
      heathwoodjohn's Avatar
      heathwoodjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Losing Sky connectivity

      Thanks for this Kenedin, in fact I think my post may have been answered by a similar query from another member Kyuuketsuki where he is experiencing the same problem. My father in Law has already contacted Sky who have run a remote diagnosis on his digibox and is reckoned to be OK.

      From all of the info I have gathered it looks like the fault may be with the LNB on the dish itself.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION