Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

    This is a discussion on Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I'm considering setting up Sky Magic Eye so I can watch Sky TV in either of 2 rooms without ...

    1. #1
      Yojimbo252's Avatar
      Yojimbo252 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      Hi,

      I'm considering setting up Sky Magic Eye so I can watch Sky TV in either of 2 rooms without the need for a 2nd Sky box or Sky multiroom subscription (I appreciate that as a result I will be limited to the same channel in both rooms).

      My question is can I run this setup with 2 remotes (keeping one in each room for convenience) or will I be forced to use a single remote and then have to go hunt for it in the other room each time I want to swap rooms?

      If the answer is I can operate with 2 Sky remotes my next question is will I be able to program each remote so it can operate the sound, on/off, etc of its respective TV or will I run into complications?

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      Two remotes will be OK. One for each tv. Key in the code for each tv, and keep the remotes in their respective rooms. No problem.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      Yojimbo252's Avatar
      Yojimbo252 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      Many thanks for the quick response.

    5. #4
      Yojimbo252's Avatar
      Yojimbo252 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      Can I ask a further question please.

      Is it possible to setup sky link as a wireless solution so I don't have to worry about trailing the cable from one room to another?

      If so can anyone recommend any products and tips/pitfalls?

      Again thanks in advance.

    6. #5
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      Televes Digidom will do the job, but are not too good over a distance or through solid brick walls. But that's true for all wireless video senders.

    7. #6
      Elaine Simpson's Avatar
      Elaine Simpson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      Can anyone help please, we have a sky magic eye for the television in the bedroom, but we are getting loads of interference with the picture and the sound, everything used to be ok but for some reason it isnt watchable anymore, can anyone help me with this problem.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Magic Eye and Remote(s) Question

      I have already replied to this in the other post.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION