Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    New Memeber - Desperate For Help

    This is a discussion on New Memeber - Desperate For Help within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I am desperatly seeking an answer to why my magic eye has suddenly stopped working?? I have sky+ and ...

    1. #1
      spineles's Avatar
      spineles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: tiscali
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      Hi, I am desperatly seeking an answer to why my magic eye has suddenly stopped working??

      I have sky+ and have connected a 2nd output to my bedroom, the magic eye has been perfect ever since I set this up about 6 months ago. Then suddenly I have stopped recieving a picture & sound on my TV in my bedroom.

      The confusing thing is the remote will still operate the sky+ box downstairs via the magic eye, if I disconect the magic eye and plug the ariel direct into the TV in my bedroom I get a prefect picture & sound again.

      I have tried retuning my TV in the bedroom but still nothing but as I said above as soon as I remove the magic eye the picture returns.

      I hope someone can help, and thanks very much in advance if you can!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      Sounds like a faulty magic eye, have you checked the connectors on it to make sure there not damaged?

    4. #3
      spineles's Avatar
      spineles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: tiscali
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      With out sounding to daft how would I do that??

      I thought it may be faulty but didnt want to waste money buying another one incase that wasnt the problem.

      I was looking in Maplin yesterday at their prices and the shop assistant told me that not all magic eyes operate sky+, is that right? At the moment the one Im having trouble with is SLX (i think, cant check as im at work).

    5. #4
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      If it's been working OK for 6 months, it should still do so, unless it has actually gone faulty for some reason. It sounds like it has. If you are getting picture and sound without the magic eye, there is nothing wrong with the digibox. If the magic eye is passing back remote commands to the digibox, and it is responding, the 9v circuit is OK. Looks like you have an internal fault in the magic eye itself.

      See: TV-link not working for more.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    6. #5
      spineles's Avatar
      spineles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: tiscali
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      Ok thanks, so you think I would be best off buying a new one?

      Is there much difference in the makes of the magic eyes, any to stay away from or do they just all work as good as each other??

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      They're all pretty much the same. Make sure it says it's Sky compatible. I got this one a couple of months ago, and Maplins have a small range as well.

      Before you buy, just make sure everything is connected properly as Smithy99 suggested. I'd switch off RF Outlet Power Supply in the Service Menu, reboot the box at the mains, then switch on RF Outlet Power Supply again. Make sure you Save Settings each time. Occasionally this fixes these faults.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      spineles's Avatar
      spineles is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: tiscali
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      Ok I will try that when I get home.

      Thanks for all your help!!

    9. #8
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      I got this one a couple of months ago,
      That is the on I have. The only thing I'll add is sometimes the pictures goes for us to and usually just touching the connection at the back of the TV fixes it.

    10. #9
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New Memeber - Desperate For Help

      The problem with these magic eye gadgets is that they receive their power down the same cable that the signal travels down, and (unlike TV signals which will 'jump' over a dirty connection), the DC feed to the magic eye will not. So if any of your plugs have a layer of oxide (corrosion) between the plug and the wire, then the DC power will not be able to get to the magic eye (or not enough power for it to operate properly).

      Ideally, TV plugs should be soldered to the cable or crimped at the very least. Many people just push the inner wire down the sleeve of the plug, and although you can get away with this when the plug is only carrying the TV signal, you won't when it has to carry a DC current.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION