Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

    This is a discussion on Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have been thinking for some time that my Sky picture was not as good as it was. Had a ...

    1. #1
      HamMan's Avatar
      HamMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fareham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Gosport, Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      I have been thinking for some time that my Sky picture was not as good as it was. Had a new box fitted and the dish alignment checked but still the same. On talking to friends with standard Sky they have all said that they thought the picture was not as good as it was, in fact it seems that if there is the same channel on Freeview we are watching that instead of through Sky! I live on the south coast of England and although I cannot imagine why, is it an area problem or.......

      Have Sky purposely degraded the normal Sky signal to encourage people the change to HD?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      I've not seen any threads on this subject here or other relevant forums. However as an HD customer I watch non-HD content on Freeview, when it's available, for exactly the same reason as you - the PQ is better on some SD content especially BBC News 24 and BBC3/4. However we nowadays often don't watch a programme because it isn't in HD. I know everyone says 'it's the content not the PQ that counts' but I must say I'm beginning to see that becoming less relevant - sometimes SD programme PQ is so bad that it's unwatchable on a 40" TV.

    4. #3
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      The picture hasnt been degraded to encourage people to switch - I certainly havent noticed any picture degradation. It could be your box is simply getting old or the new one isnt as good, if they degraded the signal then it would also affect hd customers remember!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      Sky may not have degraded the picture quality on SD but bandwidth costs money and certain channels do seem to be compressing their offerings a large amount which is down to the broadcaster.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      Quote Originally Posted by HamMan View Post
      ............
      Have Sky purposely degraded the normal Sky signal to encourage people the change to HD?
      There has been no noticeable loss of picture quality on SD channels. Bitrates are pretty much the same as they have been for some time. My Freeview pictures are of the same quality as the Sky equivalents on a Thomson HD box, and my mother has a Thomson Sky+ box that displays excellent SD images on her new Panasonic Viera 32" LCD - , in all honesty, I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    7. #6
      Stayontheground's Avatar
      Stayontheground is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      Hello, I am so glad I have found this forum because I have noticed the same thing too recently. Just Before Christmas, I received a sales call from sky (which irritates me massively, as I have told them at least three time now that I do not want to receive these calls) They wanted me to take out the Sky HD package for an extra 10 a month, I refused; stating, that I wasn't interested in paying that much when my picture quality was fine already.
      Since then I have gradually watched my picture quality decrease, now it's absolutely terrible, ITV3 is unbearable and now the BBC channels are becoming the same so I have to go to the HD channel. My neighbours have experienced exactly the same.
      Frankly, I believe that Sky have reduced the picture quality to force us into buying the HD package and I am furious.
      I don't believe anything they say anymore and if I could get freeview here I wouldn't even use Sky. I have had problems with Sky before, we had a standard box previously and coincidentally enough, it started playing up just as they tried to sell me the Sky + (even though I do prefer this one) I also paid for the internet sky package only to discover that there was only about four channels worth watching, the others being Nigerian or God channels. I only found this out after I'd paid as you can't access it until you do and they make it look great, really great, but it's rubbish!!! I'm really beginning to hate sky!

    8. #7
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      What you all need to appreciate is that on HD there is only one satellite transponder for BBC, ITV, but with SD there are regional channels, each with their own transponder. I think you may find that some BBC and ITV regions have less bandwidth than others. Try comparing BBC London with BBC East - you may well see a difference.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      Unlike analogue, digital, whether FreeView or Satellite, needs bandwidth. If a particular channel wishes to reduce costs, then bandwidth is typically reduced.

      There are various examples on FreeView, take a look at the less popular channels to confirm this. Virgin One used to be an example, ITV4 is another current example.

      ITV3 on freeview is broadcast at a lower signal strength than the BBC channels, for example, in your local area. This is also the case for the other channels on the same transponder.

      Having just flicked through the FreeView channels, I now see that there is another re-tune happening in this area today from 2pm. "eeeeekkkkkkkk"

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      HamMan (11-01-11)

    11. #9
      ChromeDome's Avatar
      ChromeDome is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Stoke on Trent
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      I upgraded my TV to a Samsung HD freeview one,i watch the HD channels through the built in tuner & think they look great.....BUT when i switch on Sky,the picture is really poor, i understand there will be a difference,but it is a massive one.
      Is there any way to improve things (Sky is connected via SCART as no HDMI on box)

      Cheers

      Ian

    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Normal (not HD) Sky picture quality

      Quote Originally Posted by ChromeDome View Post
      I upgraded my TV to a Samsung HD freeview one,i watch the HD channels through the built in tuner & think they look great.....BUT when i switch on Sky,the picture is really poor, i understand there will be a difference,but it is a massive one.
      Is there any way to improve things (Sky is connected via SCART as no HDMI on box)
      Check the Scart lead is still good. Some can deteriorate over a period of time, it might be worth swapping it for a new, better quality, lead. If you have a spare one, try it first to see if the picture quality improves.

      As for not having a HDMI port on your box, I would suggest that you sign into the Sky web site and see if you qualify for a free Sky+ HD Box. This way you'll get to appreciate your new HD TV more.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      ChromeDome (13-01-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION