Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Using SkyHD box without dish??

    This is a discussion on Using SkyHD box without dish?? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi there, I've had to temporarily move to a friends house with no sky dish so have cancelled my account ...

    1. #1
      DrVoodoo's Avatar
      DrVoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using SkyHD box without dish??

      Hi there,

      I've had to temporarily move to a friends house with no sky dish so have cancelled my account for now.

      I was wondering if there was any way to get freeview channels via the co-axial aerial input? I did give if a quick go but no luck. It'd be great if in the mean time i could get and record freeview through my sky box.

      cheers

      moog


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Using SkyHD box without dish??

      Hi

      You need a dish for definite.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Using SkyHD box without dish??

      You wont be able to use any of the playback features either without a satellite signal or a subscription.

    5. #4
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Using SkyHD box without dish??

      Freeview is a service delivered via a TV aerial. Sky boxes receive their signals via a dish. The two are not compatible.

    6. #5
      DrVoodoo's Avatar
      DrVoodoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using SkyHD box without dish??

      Pretty much what I thought...

      thanks guys


    7. #6
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Using SkyHD box without dish??

      You'd need to buy a Freeview PVR in order to record Freeview programmes.
      Humax is one of the best. They often have refurbished models on their web site.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION